We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schlossle to your Saves list
Hotel Schlossle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puhavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Riihimaki, Finland
1 review
“Perfect hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed two nights at Schlössle hotel in May 2012. Hotel was selected by my wife, I wouldn't have chosen so expensive hotel by myself :). The choice turn out to be a success! Beautiful, cosy hotel in a historical building with high-class staff. It was almost extravagant when we past the reception and staff stood up and wishes good morning/afternoon/evening. Especially beakfast, staff and cleaning surpassed our expectations. Every day our clothes were hanged to closet, in the evenings the curtains were closed, the slippers were put next to bed and the bed made ready for sleeping. Also water bottles with glasses were at the night table. Dozens of little things amazed us both and made us happy. We also tried out hotel sauna, cigar lounge and drinks at the fireplace with pleasure. We recommend this hotel warmly to all visitors of Tallinn.

Room Tip: Pillow was too big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to compliment the choice of your wife. She has made great effort to bring one of a kind vacation for both of you. We are very happy to read how much you enjoyed every single detail encountered. It has been great honor to welcome you at Schlossle and we hope so see you back soon. All or staff sends warm greetings your way for the kind comments left, recommending our place to many other visitors arriving to Tallinn. Have a wonderful day!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    48
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
48
197
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel Schlossle is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The location is perfect and the house has a very special flair. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. We loved our room, which was quiet, clean and had very nice interior. I can clearly recommend this place if you are looking for a special experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your sincere feedback in regards to your recent stay in Schlossle Hotel. I highly appreciate your input on details you enjoyed the most. We will await you soon for another special experience at this beautiful property.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here in May 2012, for one night. from the outside the hotel looks perfect, very traditional and very clean. inside we were welcomed with complimentary drinks while we checked in. the staff were very professional, and attentive, but not intrussive, our luggage was taken away and we were informed that we had been given a complimentary upgrade, the room was in part of a 13th century building with a fantastic spiral staircase, the porter explained all the room amenaties, and the room was perfect, very traditional and spotless! The reception staff were very helpfull and made dinner reservations at a near by restaurant for us, after dinner we returned to the hotel lounge bar where we had great service, and great cocktails.
Breakfast was amazing, english news papers availiable, and very friendly effecient service. be sure to try the eggs benedict with beautifully fresh hollandaise sauce! what a start to the day!!! We were leaving later on in the afternoon, and the hotel stored our luggage, and arranged a taxi to the ferry for us.
Fantastic property in the old city, fantastic people doing a great job of representing themselves, and there hotel, and probably one of the nicest hotels ive ever stayed at. there is something very special about this property!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I believe now it’s our turn to say:” What a start of the day!” after reading such comment of yours! We could be more please to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us very much. This place is special in every way for us and we are very glad to know that you have appreciated beautify of this charming property.

We strive to do our best to keep our property maintained to its highest standards, so we are very glad to hear you especially appreciated not only professionalism and friendliness of our staff but also cleaning ness to be added.

We hope to serve you your favorite eggs benedict soon and we definitely look forward to see you again!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

A comfortable and cozy little hotel in Tallinn's Old Town. Great location, friendly staff and great service.

Ideal for couples.

A good-quality breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such nice comment! I do agree that Schlossle hotel is ideal for couples, so we hope to see you soon for your lovely gateway for two!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed with five friends of mine for one night in quiet, spacious and beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived, all the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the MC Grill restaurant and almost everything was really good. We had to return our overcooked tunas back to kitchen and in addition to new portions that were fine we got a whole bottle of house red wine. All the other food was really tasty and the wine recommended was almost perfect.
Breakfast was five star quality with the warm breakfast menu and prosecco and fruits.
Unfortunately we didn*t have time to try the spa treatments but the spa menu seemed tempting.
From now on this is the hotel we are going to stay in Tallinn!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments you have taken your time to spear with us. It's wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the Schlossle Hotel very much. We certainly are more then glad to have such wonderful opportunity to welcome you back in near future as well. It has been real pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us.
Considering the fact that most of service provided during your stay has been very satisfying, I am saddened to hear that tuna you ordered while dining in M.C. Grill didn’t turn out to be cooked at perfection as it should be. Please except my apologies for this matter. However I am glad to hear that concern brought up was settled efficiently. I would like to forward big thank you from all the Schlossle team for shearing your experience with us. Have a great spring and we hope to see you soon!


Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Both Tallinn and the hotel are seriously pretty, historical and the people/staff are really welcoming. I really liked the historical decor, making the most of the features with antiques dotted around. We were upgraded and the room was very good size, well equipped and with Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom. We slept really well, the bed was very comfortable. The staff certainly try to be extremely helpful were very really knowledgeable about Tallinn and gave good recommendations on the sights to visit. The location is excellent - in the old town but just outside of the really touristy stuff.

Couple of niggling very minor things - more of a feedback to the hotel
The service tries very very hard to the point when it's a touch over formal. That may be just a culture difference and it is certainly nice to feel welcomed.
Breakfast - on the second day was relatively slow and items weren't getting refilled - this applied to basics like bread and butter which I found quite odd and was pleased to snatch the last roll whilst my partner got hold of the last piece of butter (this was before 10am with b/fast running up to 11am). If this was a cost saving measure - I would recommend taking Prosecco of the menu as it was warm and just getting wasted. Coffee and the cooked food was absolutely excellent.
Housekeeping - we started off with plentiful almost oversupply of towels which was constantly reducing via turndowns and room clean-ups to the point where we shared a towel on the second morning. That was a mystery to me.

That said - we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and the hotel is excellent standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such sincerely detailed feedback. With great pleasure I received your comment and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We highly appreciate your thoughts on every single aspect and all of it will be taken into account.
I am sorry that we failed to meet up with your expectations in regards to courtesy refilling buffet on time and lack of towels supplies in appropriate amounts. Never less such matters should not have occurred in first place, we are glad to find out were we failed to meet your expectations. We highly appreciate your feedback and would like you to rest sure that your comments have been followed up in detail. It has been great pleasure to welcome you to the Schlossle hotel and sure hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Having never traveled to Estonia, I spent a lot of time researching hotels within the Old Town. I do not regret the choice to stay at Hotel Schlossle. My husband and I traveled from Helsinki via ferry, and we were greeted promptly by our driver that we prearranged with the hotel. We were welcomed to the hotel by Martin and check-in was swift. The weather wasn't great, so we opted to stay and have lunch at the M.C. Grill. We sat in front of the fireplace and our server, Jana, provided us with tons of information about the hotel and Tallinn. She served us at breakfast the next morning and during our dinner that night. She was amazing! We would chat with her every time we walked through the restaurant, and she always asked what we had seen so far.

We decided to brave the rain and headed out on foot after getting an umbrella, very detailed map and many suggestions from the front desk staff. We just left a hotel in Helsinki that every bit of information they provided was incorrect, so it was wonderful to receive detailed and accurate tourist information.

Our Junior Suite was spacious, clean and had every comfort we could possibly need. We ate at the M.C. Grill at some point for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was delicious and there was a great variety. Meals were never rushed, and we always felt welcome to sit and talk as long as we wanted. It was a very relaxing weekend stop, and the perfect end to our travels.

This is a great small hotel in the heart of Old Town. If you're looking for a hotel that is responsive to your needs, has comfortable rooms, delicious food and on the doorstep of Old Town, you've found it!

Room Tip: Junior Suite, Room 11; Faced a back courtyard and was very quiet; Right off the restaurant up a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We simply can’t thank you enough for taking the time to shear your latest travel experience with us. We are so glad that research you did before booking hotel in Estonia justified your hopes for a wonderful stay in Tallinn.
Martin and Jana were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay to the last detail. They are great asset to our company and they defiantly know what hospitality industry is all about.
We hope to see you back soon. As beautiful as Tallinn can be in a rainy day, it sure has to offer much more to explore and see in a beautiful sunny days as well. We all are looking forward to welcome you to Schlossle hotel soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#2 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Hotel
#10 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Address: Puhavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Tallinn’s Old Town, the Schlossle is a delightful boutique hotel that will take you back to Estonia’s medieval past. The luxurious furnishings and the attentive staff ensure that you will have a memorable stay in this charming hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schlossle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.