We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a long week end” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallinn Old Town

Tallinn Old Town
City Center, Tallinn, Estonia
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 137 attractions in Tallinn
Type: Neighborhoods
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This jumble of 14th- and 15th-century architecture with its medieval walls, needling spires and twisting, cobblestone streets is also the site of many of the city's important historic attractions and museums including the House of the Brotherhood of the Blackheads, St. Catherine's Guild and the 15th-century Guildhall that now houses the History Museum.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect for a long week end”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The old town is quite a touristy place of course but there are many good reasons for this!
the whole place is filled with bars, restaurants, souvenirs shops (lots of amber and crystal), museums, and beautiful old buildings and streets to walk around.
We spent 4 days there, and enjoyed new things every single day! they also have nice cigars lounges for a relaxing after diner pause. and don't forget to go to a SPA to finish a long walking day!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,977
    523
    78
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Traditional Christmas market in Tallinn Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Old Town was the perfect venue for this small but traditional Xmas market, there were stalls selling local handicrafts - including beautiful glass decorations and Baltic Amber jewellery, as well as food stalls selling hot meals, snacks and plenty of glogg ( hot mulled wine).
There was a pen with real reindeer and in the evening we also saw Santa welcoming the visitors in at least 4 different languages and then a variety of local dancers.
This is a small Christmas market compared to Cologne or Munich but it has a very friendly, welcoming atmosphere. The buildings of the Old Town are beautiful and exploring on foot is easy - even with young children. We ate at a restaurant on the main town square and found it to be reasonably priced, and once we were exhausted after ice skating we got a taxi back to our hotel for about 3 euros! A complete bargain that I don't think you would find in any other European capital cities!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Treasure on the Baltic Sea Cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Old Town is beautiful at any time of the year with any weather. Just don´t underestimate Estonian weather, choose appropriate clothing and go for a walk - you will feel like being in an medieval fairytale.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old but friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stunning buildings, friendly people, no traffic ! Lots of little bars and restaurants - take the evening road train to see more.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprizingly one of the best parts of our Baltic Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We loved Tallinn. It is a very nice little city. The new part shows the hard work and commitment that the newly freed Estonians have put into reviving their country. The old town is their ancient gem that they have restored and developed while still keeping it a real, living and breathing home to residents and businesses. It's not just a tourist attraction (like Venice), it's vibrant yet maintains the charms of the middle ages. I would highly recommend a good visit - one day was not enough.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallinn Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Tallinn Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallinn Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tallinn Old Town to your Saves list