We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect way to spend a summer day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallinn Old Town

Tallinn Old Town
City Center, Tallinn, Estonia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Tallinn Shore Excursion: Tallinn Hop-on Hop-off...
Ranked #1 of 130 Attractions in Tallinn
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This jumble of 14th- and 15th-century architecture with its medieval walls, needling spires and twisting, cobblestone streets is also the site of many of the city's important historic attractions and museums including the House of the Brotherhood of the Blackheads, St. Catherine's Guild and the 15th-century Guildhall that now houses the History Museum.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A perfect way to spend a summer day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

An endless amount of historical buildings, small streets, shops and restaurants to explore. It gets quite hot on a summer day so a refreshing local beverage at a brewery restaurant is advised. Climbing to the sightseeing points on the wall is good exercise and the view over the marina and the city on the evening is spectacular.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,660
    720
    103
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“either take a guided tour or buy a tour book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A nice walking area, but find some sort of guide book so you know what you are seeing. There are not many plaques outside of buildings to describe their history so you will miss out on the relevant information.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tallin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not what I was expecting, a lovely old medieval town full of Hen and Stag parties but visit the centre before midday (stag parties still sleeping it off) and it is an interesting place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best stop on my Baltic cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

You can walk from the cruise quay to town, book the cruise line's shuttle bus to the edge of Old Town, or catch the Hop-On Hop-Off bus at the quay entrance, cost 11 Euros, which takes a wider berth of the town to the Song Festival grounds then to the Old Town itself. We spent most of our time wandering around the medaevil cobbled streets. When we visited in June it was Carnival week, locals were dressed in period costume, there were various stalls selling their wares & in the town square a youth orchestra played beautifully. Definitely my favourite city of the cruise.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Charming town with a rich history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We docked in Tallinn and were greeted with a marching band!! The old town is absolutely the place to go. You can get to Tallinn several different ways including the Tallinn shuttle which comes here for day trips from different city's. This a day trip at the most so i would suggest you take a early shuttle from Helsinki (or other cities....check the Tallinn shuttle schedule) and enjoy the rich history of Russia. We enjoyed the cobblestone streets and shops, the historical wall, church and Parliament House which my daughter almost talked her way into a tour there :). We also visited the the KGB museum which was interesting having been in Russia in 1971 & 1973 and experienced KGB spying in our rooms in Moscow, however the KGB tour could have been so much more then they delivered. My suggestion is walk through old town and even take a tour to make sure that you see all the sites but clearly Old Town is the main reason to come to Tallinn

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallinn Old Town also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Tallinn Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallinn Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.