We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Emperor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Emperor Bar and Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Emperor Bar and Hostel to your Saves list
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Emperor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is not just a hostel, this is an amazing great hostel where friends are made. I checked in and straight of the bat I got welcomed with smiles. The check in was so smooth it was inviting.

I stayed in a 10 bed room, spacious, clean and with a desk and chair. No there's no locker in the room but there are lockers at near reception where there is always someone there 24/7. So security is very good here

Common room is near reception with massive tables, kitchen besides them. it's actually better than I described it. There are two computers free of use but there is free wifi very where.

I got nothing bad to say about this place, it is a party place but very quiet in rooms. Yes people there is a bar attached to it but it's separated with a combination lock door so security is still kept. and noise not a problem.

Room Tip: 10 person room is awesome, with more people to meet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    34
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
10
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is such a great hostel! Stay here and you'll never be bored for sure! Go to the bar for some great (and cheap!) drinks and play games like pool and giant jenga. Staff is super fun and friendly and you'll meet some great people here. Travelers that stay in other hostels are also welcome to the bar, so it's a huge party with people from all over the world!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It's very well located, near everything. It has a cool atmosphere, with pleasent people working there, helping you everytime, and organizing great activities around the city. Very good.

Red Emperor is also a bar, with nice parties at night, where you can have fun. The dorms are separated from the public party area, by code door, and sound isulated. Very good, great value!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were in Tallinn from the 3rd -6th May this year from my stag do.
After reading other reviews and looking at the pictures of the Red Emperor bar and hostel we decided to book, before leaving the uk i sent several emails to confirm activities, transport details etc and was greeted by a fast and helpful response every time.
On arrival we were very impressed that the hostel lived up to its pictures and were greeted by helpful and friendly staff. I can honestly say that our stay in Tallinn was made so much more enjoyable by the Red Emperor. . Clean Tidy rooms, toilets showers and living areas, Amazing staff and the location could not be better.
Hand on heart i will be going back next time i get hitched!!! (better not tell the wife though...ooops!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Great fun with great local and international staff with a passion for travel. Local knowledge was awesome with some nice places to eat and drink pointed out to us on arrival and didn't disappoint. The bar attached to the hostel was a cool place to hang out at with lots of locals and a good vibe for all sorts.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fantastic hostel located right in the centre of Tallinn. Great value for money. The standard of the rooms and facilities is great too. What made it though was the brilliant staff. They were really helpful and friendly and told us where was good to go. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the Red Emperor was excellent and when I ran into some trouble with money Craig and the staff were most helpful and I wouldn't have been able to continue my travels so easily without their help.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Emperor Bar and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Emperor Bar and Hostel

Address: Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine experiencing Tallinn with an Aussie who wants something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there; who wants excitement, an experience and a unique atmosphere. Imagine a spacious bar with Triple J on which offers the chance to drink on the cheaply while meeting fellow travellers, enrolling yourself in drinking competitions like giant jenga for beginners, pool for intermediates and beer pong for experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Red Emperor Bar and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Emperor Bar and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.