We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer at F-hoone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of F-hoone

F-hoone
Telliskivi 60a, Tallinn, Estonia
+372 5322 6855
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 546 Restaurants in Tallinn
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: F-hoone is located in an old factory building. All of its fittings and furnishings are made from recycled and reused materials. Great food and great drinks in a fantastic space with fantastic people!
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beer at F-hoone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited Tallinn for a couple of days! Following recommendation of a friend living in the city we tried to dinner there both days but it was impossible as everyday was fully booked!
Anyway, as we saw the place and good atmosphere there, we managed to drink a beer at least before everybody arrive for their dinner and we enjoyed the place and also the service!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    59
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had such high expectations of this restaurant, but oh boy were we disappointed...big time. The service was utterly awful. Our waiter was unbelievably rude and obviously in a wrong profession. The problems started as soon as we sat in our table and made our orders. After ordering cokes and not getting them after 25 minutes we politely asked if they were on their way. The waiter's answer was: "yes, we are very busy as you can see" and he looked at us as if we had asked him something totally unreasonable.

We all had bruchettas as starters, two of the topics were inedible, tomato or avocado had rotten taste and olivetapenade was just too salty even for us salt lovers. We politely pointed this out to our waiter, but he handled it obnoxiously by saying:
"It's a difficult taste, some people don't understand how it should taste."
" I don't work in the kitchen so I don't know"
"It's fresh, it was made 2 hours ago"
We tried to explain how the taste was rotten but he didn't take us seriously. Throughout the dinner he continued acting rude. We got our second drinks only after finishing the meal, there was a mistake in one order, our table was situated just front of the main entrance despite the reservation. At the end the waiter commented: "Thanks for your effort". Our effort, what about his?! It is just a shame to feel so unwelcome. We all felt horrible and really surprised and this experience left us wondering if this is normal service.

The next day we emailed the restaurant with our complaints, but never got an answer. It makes one wonder about the management and how the restaurant is run. Tallinn is full of excellent restaurants, choose something else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Owner at F-hoone, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Laura,

First of all, I would like to thank You for giving such detailed feedback first in advance and now here at Trip Advisor. My deep apologies that We did not reply Your feedback firsthand, as it was our sense of obligation to hear out the other part - Sander, the waiter. I want to let You know, we have had long talks with Sander on this, as he was one of the latest employed and less experienced waiter on the staff.
Secondly we have taken into account Your feedback on the bruschettas, they were a problematic product on the menu and are now changed completely by the head chef.
All and all, I’m deeply sorry for the displeasing experience You had in our restaurant and I truly hope this was just a misfortune of chapter of accidents and again I’m sorry that You had to be the deprived part in the case.
We hope You will give us another chance during Your next stay in Tallinn to prove that we are still worth to be part of Your list in top Tallinn restaurants. In this case, please contact me in advance and I will personally guarantee You will spend good time in our restaurant.


Restaurant Manager
Maarit Altmäe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trendy atmosphere in Kalamaija”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Cosy restaurant in old industrial house. Atmosphere was great, but food let something to hope for. For starters the goatcheese salad was great but hamburgers for main wasn't so great. The bread was dry and hamburgerstake was overdone. Book a table beforhand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy place to eat and chat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked the place for a customer event - and i must say that the building has nice industrial vibe to it - and service and food was also nice. A very friendly staff is also something to point out - good sense of humour isn't something you get every day in Estonia:)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

One of the nicest place in Tallinn for dinner. Service was excellent and food superb. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F-hoone also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to F-hoone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage F-hoone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.