We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply suberb value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rataskaevu16

Rataskaevu16
Rataskaevu 16 | Kesklinna Linnaosa, Tallinn, Estonia
+372 642 4025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Simply suberb value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Warm and caring staff with knowledge. Food speaks for itself - great from the starters, elk, until the warm chocolate cake. Highly recommendable!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,417
    329
    67
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ate the elk meat which was great. The service was superb, staff was very friendly and the location was excellent. My only minor complaint was the wine, which had been opened for a bit too long ago. Excellent restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the 13th century building to the genuine warmth and friendly greeting this was honestly one of the most pleasant restaurants I've ever visited.

With the entire back of the restaurant to ourselves we enjoyed a tranquil and beautiful meal late Tuesday afternoon.

From the light and warm home-made bread, complimentary amuse-bouche from the chef, to delicately smoked fish salad to the heady, sticky blackberry sauce that accompanied the elk, it was a delight to be there. Freshly sliced pink watermelon in the tap water - elegant and unusual but thoughtful touch.

Sadly we were too full to manage dessert, which is a shame as the menu sounded great.

The bathroom offers a shock to visitors, I wont spoil the surprise but take a camera and visit the bathroom in the back of the restaurant.

This place fits my failsafe 'James rule of restaurants' - never choose anything on the main drag as it relies too much on passing trade and passes off poor food and service, Instead take time to discover those places hidden a few streets back where the quality of the food and service is valued, and not compromised.

A shame I was only there for a day or I would have returned for another meal. Incredibly good value too.

Cannot recommend highly enough. I wish the team good luck - they have only been open 6 months and I am sure they will be there for a long time to come.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good food, cosy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We went here for lunch and enjoyed the elk meat. Very good food, outside terrace and waiters that were fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous place. Food fantastic, service with a thousand sincere smiles.
Very warm atmosphere. Notcheap though if you are on a budget. Had Elk roast really nice change.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rataskaevu16 also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Rataskaevu16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rataskaevu16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.