We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool prison, worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patarei Tallinn Prison

Patarei Tallinn Prison
Kalaranna 2, Tallinn, Estonia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 130 Attractions in Tallinn
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool prison, worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

this was crazy cool... I'm not sure how safe it will be in the years to come, some areas have broken glass all over, some places the floor is pretty destroyed. Since it's not being maintained, it's cool to see, but be careful!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    54
    18
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“fascinating and scary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

my heart was pounding nearly the entire time. I managed to really scare myself. truly fascinating place. the complex is huge so allow yourself ample time. tons of pictures to be taken. you won't get a history lesson but this place is unmissable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eye Opening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very interesting place to visit. I'm American and visited it on July 4, our independence day. Although many said in this posting that one shouldn't take children there, we took our two children aged 12 and 14 there and I'm glad we did. Very powerful to walk around and try to let sink in all that one is seeing. I would highly recommend this place as a place to make one appreciate a free society, due process, etc. Be sure to get a flashlight (torch) from the lady where you pay so you can see in the darkest corners. I wish that more doors were unlocked and that they would allow more access even to the most dangerous areas. I would have been more than willing to have signed a waiver to have been able to see what was behind some of the locked doors. Either way well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a must do...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

How how often can you visit a Soviet time capsule of a prison left exactly how it was 11 years ago? Not only that, walk around with full access? Not a place for kids - but you will definitely spend a lot camera memory in this place. Spooky, unique and one of a kind. Make sure you have beer at the outside refreshment stand by the little beach on the bay side when your done.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Remembrance of the Soviet Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Chilly and gloomy but it's worth it.
Take a sweater, a headlight and a little bit of courage to make the most of this weird museum.

After you explore the Patarei prison, go to the Cafeteria located behind the prison right by the sea and sip a drink while basking in the sun...

How to get there: The prison is located on the way to the Seaplane Harbour Museum. Believe me, you can't miss it !!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patarei Tallinn Prison also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Patarei Tallinn Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patarei Tallinn Prison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.