We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent meal in the old city of tallin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porgu

Porgu
Ruutli 4, Tallinn 10130, Estonia
+372 644 0232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 546 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Believe it or not, but it’s good to be in „Pórgu“. An unbelievably large selection of draught beers and their bottled cousins, unearthly delicious à la carte dishes and an almost holy atmosphere. All this makes „Pórgu“ seem like a paradise on earth, where you can feel free and let yourself be carried away by tasting pleasure. *pórgu in english - hell
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“excellent meal in the old city of tallin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited this restaurant after reading some positive critics on tripadvisor and we weren´t disappointed. The food is excellent there. We had a borsch to share, then a chicken and a pork and everything was supurb. And the prices are very attractive, We didn´t pay more than 28 euros for everything (we didnt drink alcohol but various glasses of fruit juices and coffee).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    136
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food and beer....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Pages of choice for the beer lover, with a small menu that provides something for everyone. We went to Porgu after a cold 2 hours walking around Tallin and were met with polite and helpful service (not a given in Estonia). The food was very tasty, the salmon cooked to perfection, the pork chop delicious and the mustard chicken breast was yummy. My suggestion... Try the apple cider, it was great!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice pub in cellar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This restaurant in about 2 mins walk from main square. We took salad and wine, both were good. Service was friendly (not every place in Tallinn). You can also taste many different beer. Nice clean decoration and place is worth to pop in!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
“Põrgu Tallinn - disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have visited Porgu twice.
First time (2012) was nice.
The second time (Dec 2013) was not good at all.
I ordered the best beef of the list as medium, but it was raw.
I left a big red piece on the plate, and told for waitress that the steak was clearly too raw.
Full price was invoiced anyway!
I definitely cannot recommend Porgu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It is a pub but the food is great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We've been there (two families with children) two times during our 4 days stay in Tallinn in December.

The beer is excellent. The whole beers' list will satisfy any beer lover. Best beer is their own (in my humble opinion). Very very good! But the most astonishing thing is the food !

My friend is the manager of several Moscow restaurants and he said " WOW" when he tasted the dishes. They are superb. They are expected when you visit a restaurant with 30-40 Euro per meal but not 10-15 Euro as in Porgu

Really worth of visit !!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porgu also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Porgu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porgu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.