We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porgu

Porgu
Ruutli 4, Tallinn 10130, Estonia
+372 644 0232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 546 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Believe it or not, but it’s good to be in „Pórgu“. An unbelievably large selection of draught beers and their bottled cousins, unearthly delicious à la carte dishes and an almost holy atmosphere. All this makes „Pórgu“ seem like a paradise on earth, where you can feel free and let yourself be carried away by tasting pleasure. *pórgu in english - hell
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was a bit scared of what I'd find after reading some reviews, but it was really a nice experience. The beer was cold and reasonably priced and the risotto with vegetables was an extremely pleasant surprise (the presentation was beautiful, totally different from what one would expect at the place, although risotto connoisseurs might say it was a bit overcooked). The staff was nice and helpful! The only problem was the music, that was a bit too loud and might bother some.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    137
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews, however we were really disappointed. Walking down the stairs to the basement, we thought we were in for a real treat, unfortunately we were wrong. Room is large, clinical looking, lighting very bright, no ambience at all. Tables all large enough to seat at least 6 people, no intimacy whatsoever. Food not particularly good, starter of ribs were like boil in bag variety, quite dry meat, garlic bread was strangest thing I was served, is small square crips type of black bread with fresh garlic ( uncooked) smeared on, my main of chicken with Parmesan was actually nice, however my husbands pork chop was more fat than meat, totally disappointed, are much nicer restaurants in Tallinn!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

+ nice selection of beers, locals and imports. Nice cellar atmosphere. Nothing bad to say. Fillet mignon portion was awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb food and service at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food and very friendly. The best we have experienced in Tallinn so far and we will be going back. Don't arrive too late if you haven't booked as it is, understandably, very popular.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you would like a ok meal, at a low price and beer on the side, then you should go there.
But atmosphere is nothing special. Staff is friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porgu also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Porgu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porgu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.