We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alter Ego

Alter Ego
Roseni 8, Tallinn, Estonia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 567 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Considered by many locals the best Mediterranean restaurant in Tallinn! Alter Ego offers authentic Mediterranean food with a Spanish touch using only the best local and imported ingredients, in a smart-casual atmosphere. Alter Ego's boasts an impressive wine list of over 100 references, and has been recognised by local media to be one of the best quality-price in Estonia. In 2012 it was selected by the influential American "Daily Meal Magazine" as one of the best 15 restaurants in the Baltics.
Western Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not bad at all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Considering myself a tapas enthuastist the tapas I ate today was definitely better than average. The patatas bravas lacked some soul but the meat selection was exquisite. The staff had an answer to all our questions and were able to give an advice with confidence. The wine selection was overwhelming but only in good way. Nothing mind-blowing but we'd definitely recommend this to all tapas loving comrades.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    44
    15
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A three-course lunch for ten euros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Alter Ego is a fine dining restaurant in Rotermanni area. The location is nice. A la carte prices are higher than in most of the nearby restaurants, which you can expect cause the restaurant is listed among the best restaurants in Estonia. In lunch time (12:00-15:00) you can choose between three starters, main courses and desserts and pay only 10 euros. Food was good, but nothing special. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly.

Overall experience was very good. Three courses for ten euros in an elegant setting is a pretty good deal.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our dinner at Alter Ego couldn't have been better. The atmosphere was great, service was wonderful and food also very good. Wines complimented the food and the option to buy the wine you had with your meal was a nice extra. Definitely a place where I'll be dining in the future!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice and cozy place with below average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a good time in Alter Ego and we enjoyed the atmosphere and the quality of service. However, I would say that my expectations for food experience were higher and unfortunately I was totally missing "the WOW effect". So, I would say, I might come back for paella which I haven't had a chance to try but the rest (mussels, brownie, calamari, tuna salad) were average and beef filet Mignon was good but not impressive. I might say, I am slightly disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Tapas menu was awesome. We tried 7 different tapas dishes and all of them were delicious! The portions were good and big as they are in Spain. Price for 7 tapas and bottle of good red wine was like 50 euros for two people. I recommend this restaraunt with pleasure!

Henrik

Finland

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alter Ego also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Alter Ego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alter Ego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.