We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern Spanish at reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alter Ego

Alter Ego
Roseni 8, Tallinn, Estonia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 546 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Considered by many locals the best Mediterranean restaurant in Tallinn! Alter Ego offers authentic Mediterranean food with a Spanish touch using only the best local and imported ingredients, in a smart-casual atmosphere. Alter Ego's boasts an impressive wine list of over 100 references, and has been recognised by local media to be one of the best quality-price in Estonia. In 2012 it was selected by the influential American "Daily Meal Magazine" as one of the best 15 restaurants in the Baltics.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent modern Spanish at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice lunch with my wife. Both her cured duck breast salad and my mahi-mahi were just perfect. Blueberries that came with ice cream tasted like straight from the forest. Spanish cider was best in town. Waitresses friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    37
    15
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pretentious tapas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Ok. My fault...eating tapas in Tallinn should not be an option. We gave it a try becUse of nice rewies on ta. However we found this place quite expensive and food not particularly imprrssing. Only positive note the "calamari alla romana". Great service for a pretentious place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very good food, excellent service with reasonable prices. Special recommendation for wine enthusiasts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had lunch here on two separate occasions, both inside and outside, and the quality of food and service was very good indeed. The atmosphere inside is very relaxed and elegant. Outside is also nice and quiet as it is situated in the Rotermanni square.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Someone recommended I go to this restaurant on my trip to Tallinn and as it was right by our hotel we decided to check it out and we were not disappointed, fabulous cocktails, really yummy food and a lovely atmosphere.

This was one of our best meals out on our holiday and very reasonably priced too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alter Ego also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Alter Ego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alter Ego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.