We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost five Star...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leib Resto ja Aed

Leib Resto ja Aed
Uus street 31 | Kuni, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
+3726119026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 493 restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Hand-made bread, coupled with foods made from natural,local ingredients is a gastronomic delight. Add the city’s most stunning terrace and it’s soulful.We love simple, soulful food made from the finest,freshest ingredients. We don’t like pretentious food,stuffy service, or overpriced menus. Sometimes you just want a good meal. That’s why we created Leib: a restaurant where two guys crazy for food would want to eat themselves.We’ve both worked years in the restaurant business, and we felt the time was right to open our own place. (It helped our decision that we were offered the city’s best terrace.) We are true “food guys,” and one of us is always in the restaurant.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost five Star...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

One of the best restaurants i have visit.
Atmosphere was warm and intimate.
Service and food was great.
Highly recommendet!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    228
    79
    23
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant at the top of the hill and very pleasant atmosphere however it is always busy so make sure that you book.
The menu was limited and they didnt have the soup that we both wanted as it wasnt ready, which i found odd since we booked in at 6 and it only opened at 6?

The food was pricey and although it was tasty there was very littel of it and we ended up going directly to McDonald afterwards.
Also watch out for the wine which was £8.50 for a glass of a blend!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Traditional Estonian food in a contemporary way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent food, great presentation, good service ... It just would have deserved a bit more time inbetween the courses. But I would absolutely recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Genuinely Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Up to visiting this restaurant I had been a little disappointed in the food that I had eaten in Tallinn. Here I was genuinely impressed - to the point that I would describe the dessert as being one of the most innovative that I have experienced in recent years. A meringue made with the addition of goats cheese together with a local ice cream. Sounds strange - but the taste was outstanding - as was the local berry liqueur - the name of which I have forgotten. The restaurant confines itself to a small selection of beautifully cooked meals. The location is on the outskirts of the old town, hidden behind the city wall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“as close it gets to local delicacies -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Went for lunch and was seated on ledge pinned to the hill. Delicious food, (beef dish) good service, and mix of local/tourist..Went based on a local recommendation and wasn't disappointed. Off the Scottish club (who would have thought) Salad was good as well wine sleection

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leib Resto ja Aed also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Leib Resto ja Aed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leib Resto ja Aed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.