We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Garden takes you to a perfect spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leib Resto ja Aed

Leib Resto ja Aed
Uus street 31 | Kuni, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
+372 611 9026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hand-made bread, coupled with foods made from natural,local ingredients is a gastronomic delight. Add the city’s most stunning terrace and it’s soulful.We love simple, soulful food made from the finest,freshest ingredients. We don’t like pretentious food,stuffy service, or overpriced menus. Sometimes you just want a good meal. That’s why we created Leib: a restaurant where two guys crazy for food would want to eat themselves.We’ve both worked years in the restaurant business, and we felt the time was right to open our own place. (It helped our decision that we were offered the city’s best terrace.) We are true “food guys,” and one of us is always in the restaurant.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Garden takes you to a perfect spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is probably, one of the most beautiful restaurants that i have been. It is relatively hidden from the touristic center of tallin; located between the town walls and a very nice small "secret" garden that you have to cross to get there.
With a cozy and relaxing atmosphere of a country house, the restaurant serves a mix of nordic and estonian seasonal food, with a touch of modernity (tried the radish cold soup, loved it).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    136
    35
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exquisite cooking but eat before you go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Every thing about this place is top class: the service impeccable , the ambience perfect , the food outstanding, and the price amazing for such high quality cooking. But the portions are very small . We were hungry when we left and the presence of Sir Sean Connery,s bust did not help our mood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Simply perfect ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

What a great place ... First you have to enter this restaurant through the garden .... Then you get a small but delicious menu card. Excellent service, wine by the glass with a great selection ... Very affordable. We had goat cheese and chicken salad as starter, and then beef fillet and the pike perch .... All dishes were perfect as you would expect in a top restaurant. Hot apple pie (very! Sweet) and the cheese selection for dessert. Among all the tourist restaurants here, thus is a gem.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Subtle and laid back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

we were sitting outside where the sheep skin covers on the chairs were an cosy accessory to the autumnal crisp but warm weather. The service was very polite and efficient, waitresses attentive to our requirements and complemented the experience with a warm smile at all times.
the environment overall was lovely-being hidden away near the old town wall and voluptuous greenery. As it was just a cake I had, I am yet to comment on the main dishes or the cooking however the cake was delicious apple pie and my companion had a delicious light goat cheese snack that looked very appetizing. Definitely would recommend for a laid back yet professional meal or snack.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed every bit of this dining experience. The hidden-away entrance through the garden begins the delightful experience. Our waitress was perfect -- charming and quietly attentive. The bread was different and good, my cauliflower soup was exactly right and my quail dish with all the vegetables was very good. My husband had the 'foam' goats cheese dish and the pike/perch, both of which were sublime. My husband even commented that it was the best fish dish he'd ever had.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leib Resto ja Aed also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Leib Resto ja Aed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leib Resto ja Aed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.