We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dancing Eesti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Dancing Eesti to your Saves list
The Dancing Eesti
Vaike-Karja/Sauna 1, Tallinn 10140, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Am a regular there. The hostel bar has live music (at least every month) and good one as well, that is all I neeeeeed! ok ok it does have beds and kitchen and toilets and hot shower facilities too, but seriously, I had such a good time chilling with people there in the heart of the Old Town, that I wouldn't have minded all camping the night down in the bar on roll-out mattresses. It stll would've rocked. So for this cheap price getting free entertainment plus a proper bed, I would say excellent value! Also, cool old building, I like the windows and attmosphere. Cheers to the staff!:)

Room Tip: suitable for young people or at least chilled out and young-minded
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    5
    3
    17
See reviews for
1
3
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I really liked the hostel because it is full of young people and I had great time during new years. The hostel has a bar, which is a great bonus, because the drinks are cheaper than in other places and really good location. Staff is excellent and really fun, they make you feel like at home. Met other great people there and I am definately coming back. Also I like that hostel is full of young people that want to have fun and the common room, kitchen and bar are great places to do that. so if you want to meet new people and have fun like I did, then this is the hostel to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in The Dancing Eesti for 5 days with friends and it was just awesome!
Wouldn't guess that it really is possible to find such a cheap and cool hostel in the heart of the Tallin oldtown. For us it was perfect that it wasn't that busy during the week so we had a chance to relax and sleep after discovering Tallin and it came alive in the weekend. True party hostel!
Probably the perfect balance between peacefulness and party was also because of low season so I can imagine that it will be more fun and crazy during the busy time. We were also lucky to be one of the first ones to use brand new showers and lockers.
So thank you for the awesome time, great advice and good memories! One day we will visit you again fo sure!

Marco

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am a local and have used the dancing eesti many times with different university groups, this place is a very YOUNG PERSON oriented hostel. It seems a lot of reviews on here are negative of late but I have been here in summer and in winter and have only positive thoughts. The location can not be beaten as it is in the safe area of the old city in a secure location only 50m from the town hall. All rooms have locks and lockers which I find important and the hostel also has cameras. The corridors are all winding and it gives the hostel a more alternate look and it has a lot of common area space
Tallinn has many hostels but this hostel is one of the few that I have used that is cosy and with an atmosphere, it is aimed at students and younger folk so older people might find it noisy. They have a little old hostel bar that is open on weekends and is the cheapest place in the old town to drink, my university uses it for event hire every now and again. It serves beer, cider and many shots and cocktails and it is a nice meeting point for guests.
Staff are the best thing about the hostel as they love tallinn and it shows whenever you need help, even for a local
The prices they have a really cheap and unfortunatley this is where I think it is a negative. They have private rooms which are half price to most hostels and sometimes dorm beds for around 5 euros, the owner told me that the reason for this was to bring and help budget long term travellers and people who are real backpackers with stories to tell but ironiclly it brings in large groups of spanish guests who do not socialise with others or people who can not afford a hotel and believe they are entitled to a hotel for under 11 euros a night. The plus being that apart from these few problems most guests are students on erasmus through winter and in summer people on the long backpacking trail. Since october 2012 the hostel has had major renovation which included new bathrooms and floor, ceilings and staircases to make the appearance more appealing.

As most people know, trip advisor is a place for mostly disgruntled customers, after reading some of these reviews I thought its only fair to give a review from my times at this hostel.

And ask staff about how to get into the secret old town tunnels which are closed off to the public and hidden away, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: ask for one of the room with a balcony or the newly renovated private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked a stay in the sleeeping maris, which is the sister hostel of the dancing eesti (they are essentially in the same building compound). Since there isn't a separate page for the sleeeping maris, I shall review it here. I chose the sleeeping maris over the dancing eesti because it was supposed to be more quiet (the dancing eesti is located nearer to the bar and ground level).

Price-wise, it was quite cheap. Everything else was disastrous, in my humble opinion. I am not a fussy traveller at all, but the standards here were not even "acceptable". The whole building itself looked like it was going to collapse. The walls were old and there were many cracks in them. The toilets were not well-maintained and the rooms were run-down. The heater in the room worked intermittently and I don't recall any heating in the bathroom/shower room! Moreover, I couldn't tell if the bed linen was clean, or whether they simply reused it after the last guest left. The pathway and stairs leading to the main lobby was very old, run-down and not well-lit, giving the whole place a very uneasy feeling. The carpark (which one HAS to cross to get in and out of the main gate) was filled with lots of snow and ice which wasn't cleared or maintained in any way, making the road seriously slippery and dangerous.

The bar was inaccessible and run-down, and very few people would frequent it. Besides, they only had a small selection of beer available and no liquor/cocktails.

I tried to sign up for tours through them, but it was really difficult as they couldn't even coordinate a group in order to book a tour (most tours require a minimum number of people and I was travelling alone).

When I was staying there, my mobile phone charger was stolen. I asked the staff for help but they didn't give me any help or advice. They refused to take any responsibility and didn't even offer me any suggestions.

I had a group of friends from France who stayed in this same hostel 2 months after me, and they had much worse things to say about this place than me.

Please do yourself a favour and avoid this place like the plague. The hostel may have shifted or the building renovated since then, but I wouldn't take the risk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Whilst this may be the cheapest, this is definitely not the best hostel in Tallinn. In fact, it is easily the worst hostel I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in dozens. It's hard to know where to start, as there were so many things not to like about this hostel... perhaps if i just list them in no particular order, here goes -

* Very old and run down place, holes in wall, etc.
* Crazy old men staying there, one of which was smoking a cigar in the reception area (despite the no smoking signs).
* Another had a preference for slamming doors and yelling if anyone dare enter the bedroom after 11pm.
* Another one of these old loonies knocked on the main entry door at 4am for about 15 mins, until I finally let him in (as the hostel staff who were meant to be on shift but had fallen asleep). Turns out he had come back to fetch his lunch which he'd left in the fridge.
* The upstairs common area was a dump - mess and rubbish everywhere. Good luck getting a game of pool, there were empty beer bottles and general mess all over the table.
* Bed linnen thread bare
* Beds packed into rooms (mine at least, others were better) like sardines, barely any floor space, probably a fire safety hazard.
* Bathroom floor flooded with water (as in a couple cm deep).
* Not enough showers for the number of people staying there, takes ages to get a shower.
* No soap in bathrooms
* Incredibly noisy location, English bucks parties going on outside, very hard to get any decent sleep here.

I could probably go on, but I think this give you a fair idea of what this place is like. One of few good points is the location (putting aside the night time noise) - it's very central and within the old town walls so great for getting to the main sites. And to be fair, a couple of the staff members were doing the best they could with what little they had to work with.

IMPROVEMENT SUGGESTIONS:
Don't let crazy old men stay there - put in an age limit. Seeing these men who should probably be in a retirement home or psychiatric hospital is very off-putting and a real mood killer. The place is being treated like a homeless shelter cause it's just too cheap - put the prices up by a couple of euros and spend the extra income on improving the facilities! This place has alot of potential, but is currently a long long way off being a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are much better than upstairs (less cramped).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

really fun and cool hostel. everything was easy, staff were great. the bar is really cool

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Kohver
Kohver
#15 of 95 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
16EUR Hostel Rotermanni
16EUR Hostel Rotermanni
#31 of 95 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
16eur Old Town Munkenhof Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 95 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
0.6 mi away
United Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dancing Eesti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dancing Eesti

Address: Vaike-Karja/Sauna 1, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Dancing Eesti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dancing Eesti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.