We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family apartments in the centre of historic old town, Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OldHouse Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added OldHouse Apartments to your Saves list
OldHouse Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rataskaevu 16, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great family apartments in the centre of historic old town, Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We visited this apartments, Vene L, for two nights as a family of four, our room we had was huge with a king size bed and a double bed in the second room for the kids. The wet room was very modern with underfloor heating. The apartment was lovely and warm and although one morning we woke to no heat or hot water the staff came and sorted it within half an hour. The reception staff did anything they could to help, they walked us to our apartment and even carried a bag, be warned that it is quite a trek especially when you have a 20kg bag with no wheels to carry. My only criticism would be that there was no telephone in the room, when we woke to no heat, with -8 outside, we were lucky to have a computer with us to Skype them, otherwise without a mobile phone it would have been a walk to reception. Would definitely stay again and old town Tallinn is one of the most beautiful places we have been and open air ice skating is a must

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    47
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
47
51
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We arrived to Tallinn on a cold early evening and upon arrival received mulled wine (on the house). After that we got free wine! Wooo! I was liking the place already. We were a group of 8 (4 of us in one apartment, 4 in the other) and were split up into 2 apartments about 5 minutes away from eachother, but it wasn't a problem.

Our apartment was just a few steps away from the reception building. It had free Wifi, two bedrooms a sauna and slippers! It was spacious, warm and in a great location. We stayed for two nights and then checked out because we were going to Riga for an evening.

When we came back to Tallinn, we were given a new apartment; this time, one in the same building that our other four friends had been in. It was at the VERY TOP of the building - so not recommended if you are not able to carry your luggage up many steep steps. This second apartment was not as nice as the first one. First, it was freezing (despite all the heaters on high), it didn't have slippers (not a big deal), didnt' have a real shower (came with a squeegie so you could get the water from the floor into the drain), it smelled like sewer (though to be fair, this is typical of places in Tallinn I've found) and the WiFi was not working for us. It was still spacious and nice and fine for one night, but the first apartment was wayyy nicer.

Overall, we had a nice time staying here. Definitely it's affordable and the receptionists were BEYOND AWESOME - THANKS LADIES!!!!!!! I would love to return to stay here if ever in Tallinn again and recommend it to everyone and anyone looking to stay somewhere in the Old Town when visiting Tallinn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building NOT opposite the church/near the hostel. They are cold and the WiFi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

OldHouse has a number of apartments spread around the old town, ours is located at the furthest end of Pikk Street, one of Tallinn's best known attractions. Despite its central location it is very quiet and peaceful on the top floor and the rear of the building, with excellent views across the old city and the port.

The apartment is attractively and distinctively furnished. It is well equipped, with a modern nordic feel - a pleasant change to the clinical, minimalist feel of many rentals. In the depths of the Estonian winter it was very warm, with a very smart wood-burning stove, multiple lighting options, and a wonderful bed for a romantic stay. The many windows and two balconies gave great views over the city rooftops by night and day. It was impeccably clean and well-maintained.

My slight criticism is the lack of a 'welcome pack' of essential supplies, except tea and coffee, as there are few general stores in the old town, particularly if you arrive late as we did. Being an attic apartment, some of the ceilings and door frames are low and you need to watch your head. But to me that just added to the quirky character of this lovely apartment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

On arrival the receptionists greeted us with estonian warm drinks, we had to wait an hour for our room but they gave us a detail map of where we could go to explore. When we came back our apartment was a 5 minute walk from the main reception but the receptionist showed us the whole way there which was lovely. We have the Vene N room with the room dowstairs and it was gorgeous! Very pleased with the apartment! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We had an apartment with three bedrooms in Vene 23 in the old town. It was large, tidy and nice, beautiful furniture, a fireplace and there were even champagne and wine glasses. Should get back when the weather is suitable for using the terrace.

Room Tip: Room 9 at Vene 23 was great for 6 persons willing to sleep in double beds: fireplace, terrace, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanddulas Wales UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at Vene 1 very nice place, the reception was the other end of the old town but not a long walk with the young lady whom took us there, apartment was nice, clean and warm it faced a court yard with violin music floating around from the music teacher there, the down side was the offensive "house Rules" you are MADE to sign informing you of FINES which you will have to pay for things like smoking in the apartment, making noise after 11pm and leaving gates open etc some as high as 500Euro, they also asked for your credit card number on the bottom of the House rules Sheet, " I don't think so" especially as the gate to the court yard was found open on many occasions as it is not only used by us but by all the music students entering the court yard, NO washing machine, but all kitchen equipment there, loads of loo roll, bathroom was not the best, in fact it was a bit damp and mouldy not suprising really as there where no extractor fans and no windows for the bathroom, also drains made a wonderful "ploping sound" for around half an hour after water had been drained down them both sink and basin which brings me to my moan the bathroom basin, how on earth do you shave in a basin with no plug? instead you have to carry the bowl from the kitchen sink (no plug there either) and fill it plop him in the basin and shave from that, not really the best idea.
All in all.
1) No washing machine
2) No plugs (Basin & Sink)
3) Bathroom need updating
4) House rules are quite offensive, Nakes you wonder what type of client they have staying there!
Apart from these silly moans the rest of the stay was great, apartment was nice, warm, clean and an abundance of towels, they left us a bottle of wine (red) but quickly changed it to white with no promting at all, the area the aprtment was in was quite, no bars etc around you not in the middle of the old town but on the outskirts and a two min walk from a rather good supermarket, basically out of the gate vere left through the town wall past the indian restaruant turn right at the end of this ally, walk about 2 min the car park to the supermarket is obvious I think it was called Rimmi.
Apart from the 4 points above I can not fault it at all and would happily stay in Vene 1 again, insidentally there as two VERY good eateries if you turn left when you leave and walk to the end of the road, then turn left again up the little hill around half way up a Russian eatery and just at the top of the hill look right and there is a wonderful "cafe" which does very cheap GOOD day time meals. Wonderful city and they have a Lido in Solaris shoping center which is excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed in the Pikk Street apartment for 4 nights and we didn't want to leave!

The apartment was absolutely huge, with a log fire. We looked out the bedroom window and across the street was the Oleviste church. Quite frankly, the best view I have ever had from my window! We also got a complimentary bottle of wine as it was their 12th birthday.
The house smelt of log fires, which to me was a great. It was really cosy and comfortable, plenty of bedding and towels provided.

We were on Pikk street in the Old Town, about 5 minutes walk from the old town square, so it's location was excellent. There are loads of shops and restaurants along Pikk so you don't have to walk far to get great food.

Overall, I cannot recommend this place enough. We loved Tallinn so much we plan to go again (not something I normally want to do once I've seen somewhere). It hasn't been spoilt by tourism yet, so it's best to go now. If we do come again, I will go this time of year, and I will definitely use Old House Apartments again.

Room Tip: Can't speak for the hostels etc, but the Pikk street apartment was lovely. No noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#2 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#17 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldHouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldHouse Apartments

Address: Rataskaevu 16, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — OldHouse Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"OldHouse Apartments“ provides serviced guest apartments for short-term rent in the heart of Tallinn Old Town. We have a wide selection of 29 individually designed standard and luxury apartments, all located in the Medieval Old Town with saunas, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, balconies and views to Town Hall Square. All the "OldHouse Apartments“ are covered with free Wi-Fi internet. Our apartments are a great alternative to a hotel, offering you more privacy, independence and space. Extras: Free parking and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your OldHouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OldHouse Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.