We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value and Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OldHouse Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added OldHouse Apartments to your Saves list
OldHouse Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rataskaevu 16, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Value and Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed in the Pikk Street apartment for 4 nights and we didn't want to leave!

The apartment was absolutely huge, with a log fire. We looked out the bedroom window and across the street was the Oleviste church. Quite frankly, the best view I have ever had from my window! We also got a complimentary bottle of wine as it was their 12th birthday.
The house smelt of log fires, which to me was a great. It was really cosy and comfortable, plenty of bedding and towels provided.

We were on Pikk street in the Old Town, about 5 minutes walk from the old town square, so it's location was excellent. There are loads of shops and restaurants along Pikk so you don't have to walk far to get great food.

Overall, I cannot recommend this place enough. We loved Tallinn so much we plan to go again (not something I normally want to do once I've seen somewhere). It hasn't been spoilt by tourism yet, so it's best to go now. If we do come again, I will go this time of year, and I will definitely use Old House Apartments again.

Room Tip: Can't speak for the hostels etc, but the Pikk street apartment was lovely. No noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    47
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
47
51
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very good furnished, very nice big apartment, the view is magic, plus free parking for guests. I recommend it for everybody.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. I so wanted to give this apartment a great review. The first moment we walked into the apartment we were pleased. But then as each day went on our feelings changed.
The apartment itself was wonderful! Spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Wonderfully comfortable double bed with lots of nice pillows and comforters.
Kitchen with stove, oven, fridge, freezer, coffee maker, sink, dishwasher, utensils, pots, pans, wine opener, cutting knives, etc. Iron, ironing board.
The bathroom was a bit sparse and had an odd layout as the shower was not enclosed (no bathtub which we didn’t mind at all). There was a washing machine in there as well but it didn’t work (more on that later). There was also had a towel warmer.
There was a nice sauna in the bathroom which was a nice added bonus.
Free, fast wi-fi in the room.

The 2 main problems we encountered were the lack of any sort of service when we needed something and NOISE!

First, as soon as we got there we had been traveling for about 6 days and wanted to do a load of laundry and discovered the washing machine was out of order.
I happened upon the owner of the property in the hall (as she was living in the apartment next door). Her first response when I asked about the broken washing machine was “You just got here, why do you need to do laundry?” Well, first of all, is that really the point? Also, having a washing machine was a consideration when choosing this apartment as we like to be able to do laundry so we can pack less.
Then she said that the apartment doesn’t come with detergent so we’d have to have brought our own anyway (which we did). Once I told her this and I think she could sense our frustration she actually offered to let us use her machine. We found this to be satisfactory and were happy with the offer.
We were told it wasn’t fixed because it was low season. That is not a satisfactory answer and you may or may not find you can wash your clothes if you rent this room. A few hours later our laundry was delivered back to us....so at this point we were still mostly satisfied with our choice of this apartment.

But as the days went on and we started needing things like toilet paper, we were quickly finding that service was completely lacking.
We asked on three separate occasions for more toilet paper and never got it the entire three days (we had to resort to our emergency travel roll we carry). The kitchen did not have any napkins. We also asked three times for this and didn’t get them until the very last day. Same with extra bath towels. The kitchen only came with one towel. We needed it to clean up a spill, so it would have been nice to have an extra...never got one after asking multiple times.

Again, if it were only this annoyance we still may have recommended this apartment.
But the noise was the last straw.
The first night was quiet and we had no problems.
The second night we apparently had some neighbors upstairs that were night owls and felt the need to trudge across their apartment ALL NIGHT long. And we actually travel with a noise machine and we both use earplugs and still we could hear the noise from upstairs.
But it was the last night that put the nail in the coffin of my good review.
Let me mention that we were made to sign something saying that we would make no noise after 11pm. Well on our last night (when we had to wake up at 4am to depart for the airport the next morning) construction noise started right after 11pm and went until at least 2am! I’m talking hammering and drilling. I almost couldn’t believe my ears! I kept thinking I must be in a bad dream. Are they really hammering and drilling at one o’clock in the morning??????
And there was no one to complain to because reception closes at 8pm.
And the next morning we had to leave before reception opened so I never even got to ask them what in the world was going on.

They did set up a taxi to be waiting for us at 4:45 AM and that went off without a hitch.

There were many things we really loved about this place and so wanted to be able to highly recommend it. It is in a beautiful old building with the original winding staircase in the hall and original beams on the ceiling of the apartment. The location is superb, just steps from Raekoja Plats (the main square). But over the course of our stay the noise and lack of customer service just began to overpower the good feelings we had about the place and therefore we feel we cannot recommend this beautiful apartment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stay 3 days in the apartment Vene II second floor against the Church in the beginning of August 2011. Price 340€. Two bedrooms (one very big) one living room, kitchen and batchroom. Furniture was on the first view modern but on the second one slight run down (but no nightmare).

There was a very strange odor coming from the bathroom. Even aerate solved the smell temporary. We informed the house service and on the second day a friendly lady treated the bathroom and drains with chemicals. The result was the smell of sewage and chloride whereas the sewage dominated after time.

Second complain: After two days and nights where we couldn’t use the living room and Kitchen because of the odor, the house service fixed the problem and we had a final night without odor smell disruptions.

There was a letter on the table with their apologies and a bottle of house wine and chocolate with expired best before date! Even a promise to get a special rate at the next stay was offered! (How many visitors are coming twice to Tallinn?)

I tried to catch the manager to get a price discount because of two horrible days during our stay in the flat. Personal nobody was available on the check out day. I tried to get a feedback by mail two times without any answer.

Therefore, my judgment was negative. The staff on the reception was very helpful but the behavior of the management 100% unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The appartment we got had one big room and one small room with queen size beds in both.
Standard was okay, and had most of what we would need both in kitchen and in living room.

The big dissappointment was the bad smell of sewage in the appartment. We needed to let the cold water run constantly when staying in to make the smell go away/better and be able to use the apartment. The minute we stopped the water, the smell came back.

Don't know if this was due to sewage problems in the apartment/building or old town...but it kind of puts down the exitement a whole lot!

Our aparment was straight accross the street of St.Nicolas church and had some church bell noise now and then...=)

- The thought is good, the quality is okay, the smell is bad. -

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in Raka 3 and I was mightily impressed with the quality, workmanship, cleanliness and character of this property. Tallinn is a first class destination with an amazing array of atmospheric restaurants with imaginative menus and Old House is right in the centre of the best that Tallinn can deliver. Believe me, I have no association with this establishment, but I had not realised how nice it was actually going to be. I loved the ancient uneven creaky staircase leading up from the stone cellar which is the reception, but when you get inside it is all very bright and cheerful, with a lovely beamed ceiling. Everything was supplied, from sugar, salt, pepper, ground coffee, tea, washing up liquid, sponge, washing machine powder, dishwasher tablets, air freshener, but no harm to bring a spare toilet roll. You can buy decent wine at a fair price from reception. There is a 24 hour shop nearby for the couple of essentials you might need. Cleanliness is impressive too, the place is spotless to a fault. Tallinn Airport is a pleasure to use, with only 14 gates and tons of good shops and eateries.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed in the apt w sauna. It was clean, tastefully decorated, spacious (2 adults, 2 kids) and came with a fully equipped kitchen! I liked it so much we extended our stay. The very helpful staff arranged our ferry rescheduling. There are apts facing the street (noisier) and apts facing an inner courtyard. You cannot beat the location in Old Town. And it feels very safe. The only downside is you access the apts via a narrow, old, wooden spiral staircase so it will be difficult with small children or the disabled.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#2 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#17 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#6 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldHouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldHouse Apartments

Address: Rataskaevu 16, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — OldHouse Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"OldHouse Apartments“ provides serviced guest apartments for short-term rent in the heart of Tallinn Old Town. We have a wide selection of 29 individually designed standard and luxury apartments, all located in the Medieval Old Town with saunas, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, balconies and views to Town Hall Square. All the "OldHouse Apartments“ are covered with free Wi-Fi internet. Our apartments are a great alternative to a hotel, offering you more privacy, independence and space. Extras: Free parking and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your OldHouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OldHouse Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.