We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai 24 / Pikk 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

At 40 euros for night, it is simply impossible to complain about somewhere with a comfortable bed, free wifi, free small breakfast, and right smack in the middle of the old town. Friendly staff as well.

Room isn't very large and it doesn't have luxury amenities, but surely you can't expect that at this price. :) Absolutely fantastic value overall and would gladly stay again.

My only possible worry is street noise from the old town - which we didn't experience since we stayed on a Sunday night, but I am not sure how it'd be on a Fri or Sat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    91
    35
    14
    18
See reviews for
24
97
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked here based on its location in the Old Town and being about a 15 minute walk from the ferry terminal. The hotel is perfectly located in a quiet area of the Old Town, with free wifi and a great breakfast. My room was small, modern and clean. The staff spoke English well and was very friendly. It is a great starting point to wander the Old Town and a quick walk to more modern shopping as well. If you want old world charm with modern fixings this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Perfect location in central Old Town. We had a Bella Garden room (108) which was spacious and very nice. Bed area in this room is situated on a high loft with a steep stairway, which we found cool but could be a problem for elderly and small children.
A bonus staying at this hotel is the free entry to the Meriton Grand Hotel aqua and sauna center and gym. It's a 15 minute nice walk through the park just outside the city wall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This review is about Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel, with entrance on Pikk and Lai streets. They have another property a few blocks away, so be careful when you book. It is a great place if you are on a budget, and just want a place to sleep at night. Stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2013.

What I liked about the place:

- Location - just a 5 minute walk from the town square, and old Tallinn being a small city, the hotel is perfect for most attractions. Its also a 15 minute walk to the ferry terminal. Cab ride from the airport is around 10 euros.
- Breakfast - decent spread
- Staff - very helpful
- Character - yes, the place does have a unique character, it is almost like it's built into the old town wall. Some find it dingy (especially the corridors), but it's interesting.
- Rates - I traveled in winter, so it was low-season, but the rates were very low even for last minute booking, and hence the value for money was very high.

What I did not like:

- Single rooms are *very* tiny. Some of the previous reviewers have mentioned this already,
there is no space to move about, there is no space to keep your suitcase if it is a big one.
- Electricity outlets are not in convenient places
- Bathroom - again, very tiny. The washbasin is so tiny you can't even wash your face properly. probably like a foot wide! The shower area is also so small that the shower curtain keeps sticking to you when you shower. Just very inconvenient

Overall i would say a great pad for solo travelers. Not a great place for families with luggage or kids

Room Tip: The single rooms are really tiny, but the beds are very comfortable. Even the double rooms come in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihailBurohh, General Manager at Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I would just like to clarify your comment about the room size. It is true that we have economy single room which are really meant for a simple overnighting, a bed & breakfast kind of deal. These rooms come at an incredibely competitive price as they are smaller in size and offer no frills.
Our standard and bella garden category rooms, however, are large in size and can indeed fit a family comfortably and many remain quite spacious even after adding an extra bed.
I kindly recommend that you try one of these rooms on your future visit to Tallinn.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Meriton Old Town Garden hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very centrally located in Tallin's old town. Rooms are convinient, not large at all, but functional. Clean. Good breakfast. The restaurants on the premises are ok, not stunning though. The nearby Indian restaurant is good. Spa free os use in the nearby Meriton hotel outside the old town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is located right in the Old Town not far from the Fat Margaret Tower and the Cruise Ship Port (I actually walked from the Port to the Hotel due to getting on the wrong bus at the airport). It was only about a 20 minute walk for me but in my case I was carting a large suitcase, laptop bag, and backpack.

I had booked a single room. It was very small (a dorm room is bigger) to where I barely had any free space with my luggage but it wasn't a big deal since I was rarely in the room. Overall, the room was very clean, comfortable albeit small, and the bathroom was well maintained. Breakfast was simple but filling and consists of a choice of meats, cheeses, herring, fruits, and some hot foods. I would definitely stay here again since I found the location to be perfect for my needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. People were very friedly and polite at the reception. My room was small and clean. There was only one minor detail that I did not like: it is the sink in the bath. The sink is too small and the shelf above it leaves very little space to wash yourself. Otherwise, the room was what I have expected it to be.
The location of the hotel is very convinient, right in the old city and the price was fair. They have nice restaurant and cafe in the same building, where servise is also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Address: Lai 24 / Pikk 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel is located in the heart of the old town displaying true architectural wonder by transforming a 16th century merchant house into a stylish hotel. Connecting two of Old town's most famous picturesque boulevards, Lai and Pikk, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel brings the magic and mystery of medieval Tallinn to your doorstep. Offering 50 rooms, each completely unique in size and design, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel gives a perfect balance of historical authenticity and modern comfort. Room prices include breakfast. All of our guests have the privilege to use both the aqua and sauna center and gym in the Meriton Grand Conference & SPA hotel free of charge 07:00 -22:00. The hotel is accessible from both Pikk and Lai streets, elegantly connected by a charming garden. All of Old Town's main attractions, shops, galleries and sights are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.