We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai 24 / Pikk 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is located right in the Old Town not far from the Fat Margaret Tower and the Cruise Ship Port (I actually walked from the Port to the Hotel due to getting on the wrong bus at the airport). It was only about a 20 minute walk for me but in my case I was carting a large suitcase, laptop bag, and backpack.

I had booked a single room. It was very small (a dorm room is bigger) to where I barely had any free space with my luggage but it wasn't a big deal since I was rarely in the room. Overall, the room was very clean, comfortable albeit small, and the bathroom was well maintained. Breakfast was simple but filling and consists of a choice of meats, cheeses, herring, fruits, and some hot foods. I would definitely stay here again since I found the location to be perfect for my needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    109
    43
    17
    20
See reviews for
29
110
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. People were very friedly and polite at the reception. My room was small and clean. There was only one minor detail that I did not like: it is the sink in the bath. The sink is too small and the shelf above it leaves very little space to wash yourself. Otherwise, the room was what I have expected it to be.
The location of the hotel is very convinient, right in the old city and the price was fair. They have nice restaurant and cafe in the same building, where servise is also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The main reason why we decided to choose this hotel was its location: actually it is the only thing that matters, when you have only 2 days to see the city. And from this point of view the choice was excellent, because it take only two minutes to get to the heart of old Tallinn.
Speaking about other advantages of the hotel I can mention excellent WiFi (it worked not only in the room, but also in the hotel’s cafe and restaurant) and hearty breakfast. Staff is very helpful, some of them know Russian very well, others speak only English.
The only thing we didn’t like much was the room size. The room was really very little, especially the bathroom with a tiny sink. There was no table or wardrobe in the room, so we had to keep all our things in the suitcase or on the window-sill. There are only two sockets in the room and they are situated near the floor, so it is a problem even to charge mobile phones. But it was rather fun to live in such a place after a big flat.

The hotel has two entrances: in the street Pikk and in the street Lai. The entrance from the Lai street work 24 hours, while the other one entrance works from 8:00 a.m. till 8 p.m., so be careful in case of late arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Meriton Old Town Garden and being 5 minutes walk from the old town square it was ideal for a three day stay in Tallinn. It's also really conveniently located for the 'Pikk Jalg' - the cobbled street hill where you have a short walk up to see some scenic views of the old town and you get to explore a few of the streets on your way through to the hotel.

Our double room was 2 single beds pushed together so not perfect, but they were pretty comfortable. Lots of floor space and we had a sofa too. TV had a few good channels for a bit of browsing. Staff were really friendly and didn't make us feel unwelcome (as I have done in parts of Europe before). The bathroom was fine and the shower was hot and powerful - important factor for me...nothing worse than a dribbly shower before you go walking medieval Eastern european towns for the day!

And breakfast was a decent selection of eggs, bacon, pastries and cold meats.

A memorable stay for me!

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed, not 2 singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Interesting decor and creaky corridors give this place a lot of character. The location of the hotel is ideal for tourists wanting to see the beautiful old streets of Tallinn. Breakfast was decent, room was spacious and clean. I would recommend this hotel. Watchout for the cheaper "economy" rooms which seemed to be rather small indeed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of September. Double room was a good size with some interesting original features (a big tiled fireplace) and there were further features throughout the building. Check out the well in the toilet near the breakfast room! Bathroom was a wet room and quite small but a decent shower. Breakfast was as expected, plenty of everything and replenished regularly. Have to say how impressed we were by how clean everything was. Only downside for us was not enough 'tea and coffee making facilities' in the room - we had to ask each day for supplies and it seemed a struggle for staff to find them. Close to the old town square but far enough away to have a bit of peace and quiet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked the economy room on-line, not realizing that it was going to be the tiniest hotel room I’ve ever seen, with bunk beds. It was ok for one night, but had to find something more livable for the second night. The bathroom was minuscule as well, with half a sink that was hard to get to without bumping your head on the shelf above it. The location is good, inside the old town and easy to walk anywhere. Breakfast was good too. The free wi-fi was handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Address: Lai 24 / Pikk 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel is located in the heart of the old town displaying true architectural wonder by transforming a 16th century merchant house into a stylish hotel. Connecting two of Old town's most famous picturesque boulevards, Lai and Pikk, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel brings the magic and mystery of medieval Tallinn to your doorstep. Offering 50 rooms, each completely unique in size and design, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel gives a perfect balance of historical authenticity and modern comfort. Room prices include breakfast. All of our guests have the privilege to use both the aqua and sauna center and gym in the Meriton Grand Conference & SPA hotel free of charge 07:00 -22:00. The hotel is accessible from both Pikk and Lai streets, elegantly connected by a charming garden. All of Old Town's main attractions, shops, galleries and sights are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.