We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai 24 / Pikk 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of September. Double room was a good size with some interesting original features (a big tiled fireplace) and there were further features throughout the building. Check out the well in the toilet near the breakfast room! Bathroom was a wet room and quite small but a decent shower. Breakfast was as expected, plenty of everything and replenished regularly. Have to say how impressed we were by how clean everything was. Only downside for us was not enough 'tea and coffee making facilities' in the room - we had to ask each day for supplies and it seemed a struggle for staff to find them. Close to the old town square but far enough away to have a bit of peace and quiet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    104
    36
    17
    19
See reviews for
24
94
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked the economy room on-line, not realizing that it was going to be the tiniest hotel room I’ve ever seen, with bunk beds. It was ok for one night, but had to find something more livable for the second night. The bathroom was minuscule as well, with half a sink that was hard to get to without bumping your head on the shelf above it. The location is good, inside the old town and easy to walk anywhere. Breakfast was good too. The free wi-fi was handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There are 2 Meriton Old Town Hotels and both are Centrally located. This one is very big, the front on one street the back on another. We had a ground floor room facing reception. We did not find it noise as some other reviewers stated. It was a narrow room but was a good size. The hand basin, shower and toilet were in a long narrow wet room, which was OK. Breakfast was fine and served at the other end of the hotel near the bakery. There is also a restaurant in the basement serving local food. The courtyard has a bar and also serves food. This was OK also. The customers toilet is interesting as it has a well in it. There is also one next to the reception desk. The hotel was centrally located and everything was available by walking. There is a little coffee shop next door, which we didn't try. There is also a wine bar that serves pizza, which was good. Further along the road there is another Italian restaurant which is very nice. We enjoyed our stay in Tallin and would recommend this hotel as good value.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms had bunks and looked small, so unless this is what you want be careful in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. A good value in a large comfortable room. Unfortunately our room fronted on the street where we Shared in the revelry of late night partiers. Next time we would ask for a quiet room. All in all it's a good value in an Old Town setting. We would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed over the last weekend, the hotel is fantastically placed about 2 minutes from the Old Town Square. The hotel itself is quirky, the main staircase is fantastic and old wood. The room itself was very good in size, very comfortable, and exceptionally clean. The breakfast was best described as average.

If I had one complaint it would be that although there were coffee making facilities, these were not replenished each day and we had to ask repeatedly for this to be refilled.

Overall a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A good hotell placed centralt in Tallinn. Good service, but not so familiar atmosphere. A little problems finding rooms, because it was elevator only to third floor, and rooms is in different positions. Ordinary breakfast is included in the price. The rooms was very special and big. Cleaning was also very good, so stay there is no problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The location was excellent, the price was right and the desk people were personable and helpful.

The first room I was shown was the size of a postage stamp and I had specifically selected standard room rather than basic. The bed took up the whole room with tea service on the window sill, the door had to be slammed and I walked up a flight of stairs with two heavy suitcases. So, I asked for a different room. The second room was big enough with a few quirks. It was on the ground floor right off the lobby so there was some lobby noise, but it wasn't too bad. The widows were at eye level to the street and they could have used some privacy glass on the bottom half for privacy. Also, the shower was a bit weird in the middle of the bathroom.

On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was more than decent. Also, we used the spa that was at their sister hotel and found it really great. I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the room out before lugging your luggage up stairs. The first room I was shown didn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Address: Lai 24 / Pikk 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel is located in the heart of the old town displaying true architectural wonder by transforming a 16th century merchant house into a stylish hotel. Connecting two of Old town's most famous picturesque boulevards, Lai and Pikk, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel brings the magic and mystery of medieval Tallinn to your doorstep. Offering 50 rooms, each completely unique in size and design, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel gives a perfect balance of historical authenticity and modern comfort. Room prices include breakfast. All of our guests have the privilege to use both the aqua and sauna center and gym in the Meriton Grand Conference & SPA hotel free of charge 07:00 -22:00. The hotel is accessible from both Pikk and Lai streets, elegantly connected by a charming garden. All of Old Town's main attractions, shops, galleries and sights are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.