We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Bottega

La Bottega
Vene 4, Tallinn, Estonia
+3726277733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Classic Italian trattoria offers a cross section of the best Italian kitchen. Menu for the retaurant has created by a lot of acclaimed chef de Nicolo Bocca TandaHowever La Bottega's handwriting are clearly different – its offers a modern home Italian cuisine.Voted by 50 Best Restaurants in Estonia:• 3th place in year 2010 and 2011
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The food is authentic and good, but the overall experience was nothing special. The service was quite cold and uninterested. Overall, I think there are better places in Tallinn with warmer atmosphere to enjoy Italian food at.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    58
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“If you like authentic Italian food you will not be disappointed by La Bottega”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

La Bottega delivers excellent Italian food in exquisite surroundings. I cannot understand why it is so far down the Trip Advisor list of Tallinn restaurants. Do people not appreciate the authentic Italian flavours, the terrific wines (to suit all tastes and pockets) and the good service? Plus, it is really nice inside.
Visited for the third time, a while after my previous visit - all business dinners but this would be an equally good place for an evening with friends or loved ones. I have not been disappointed on any of my visits.
There are some delicious pasta dishes for starters, the perfect size. Two of our party of three had the tagliatelle with porcini and speck, which were quite delicious. I have previously enjoyed the simple, classic, spaghetti aglio, olio and pepperoncino. Our other colleague, ''I'', had an aubergine and goat cheese salad.
For main, I had a very tasty dish of cubes of stewed wild boar served on a bed of delicious potato cake, while one of my colleagues had the veal cheeks; the third (not a meat eater) had goat cheese ravioli.
There were some lovely sweets on offer which my colleagues enjoyed; I had eaten enough. Delicious wine – we had a Barbera which went perfectly with our food choices. Nice bread served with the meal and good service.
Had a very pleasant evening, all three thoroughly enjoying our food. Thank you La Bottega.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good food,terrible service. We get our food different time. One was wery rare and shoud be medium. First food game and we haven't got our drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited this restaurant with my wife. The service was very good. Food was excellent. The location is very nice, and it was only a short walk away from our hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fish was soft, must have been from the deep freeze, not fresh. To much oil and garlic. All food taste nothing or just garlic. No service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bottega also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to La Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bottega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.