We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Traditional Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maikrahv

Maikrahv
Town Hall Square 8 | ( Raekoja Plats 8 ), Tallinn 10146, Estonia
+3726314227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #269 of 598 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Maikrahv -A taste experience in a historical Town Hall Square arched cellar, together with candlelight and warm, friendly service! Welcome!
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty Traditional Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice surroundings and excellent food with the accent firmly on the traditional. Value is ok, not cheap but we benefitted from a 50% food discount from the Chilli website!

We were a couple but also good for larger groups and family outings.

Definitely worth a visit :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    19
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoy Authentic Estonian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

To enjoy authentic Estonian food we visited Maikrahv.
I ordered mushroom soup (seenesupp, 9.70 euro) and Estonian grilled polk (Seapraad kapsaga, 17.95 euro). Both dishes took my fancy. My wife ordered pee soup (Hernesupp, 8.95 euro) and Estonian chiken fillet (Kanafilee, 15.95 euro). We shared these dishes with each other. If I am asked 'Do you like this chiken fillet?' To be honest, I would never say 'I like it.'

Space of the dining hall was so wide, but there were a few diners when we visited. So, I felt something lonley, but the service of this restaurant was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seljord, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Me and my girlfriend both had the beef steak and it was absolutely delicious! One of the best I've had. It came with grated potatoes which is THE best I've had. Steak was 25 euro. Amazing meal in a great atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant at Town Hall Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had dinner here in February 2013 and the chicken we ordered was excellent and it was served with varm vegetables too. The restaurant is in a nice cellar and our waiter was excellent. And I will come back for a meal, in my opinion this is the best restaurant at Town Hall Square.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
211 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“touristic but not too much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Maikrahv is one of the many restaurants surrounding the Town Hall Square of Tallinn. It reminds the medieval times with the structure and the furniture of the dining rooms and the suits of the waiters. It offers a good choice of estonian food, based on soups, fish (salmon, herring), meat (reindeer, pork, lamb). Also international cusine is available, but I think it is better to forget about (I saw a platter of spaghetti....).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maikrahv also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Maikrahv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maikrahv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.