We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorious third visit to Mekk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant MEKK

Restaurant MEKK
Suur-Karja 17/19 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
37 26 80 66 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Victorious third visit to Mekk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited Mekk the third time last week. Firstly I need to mention that my first visit was good, secon very bad (I wrote a review here), but the third one now was very pleasant. Everything was fresh and tasty and the service very kind and supportive. Now I recommend others to visit this place again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear brimj,

Thank you for your post!

I remember your last post where you were not a 100% happy with your experience and I am very glad to see that you gave us another shot to make this up to you.

As always - you are welcome to return any time!

Best wishes,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous gourmet food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We heard that this restaurant in the Savoy Hotel offered great food and like many restaurants in the Old Town offer a Lunch Special so you can eat for a lower price. It's fairly small and we did not have reservations but were able to go into the bar area and sit at a table and order off the menu. We had delicious herbed chicken breast served over a unique potato salad with small bits of potato and pickle with a minimal amount of sauce and some greens. It all tasted fantastic and they do a great job with the presentation. It was also very filling. The price was reasonable for what we got and in looking at the dinner menu, the lunch was much less expensive. Definitely worth a visit but you may want to make reservations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your opinion!

I am glad that you were pleased with all the important areas of any restaurant: the service, the price and the quality of the food, of course.

It is a great pleasure to hear those words from you and I hope we can meet sometimes here in MEKK so I can thank you personally.

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Blackcurrant icecream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I just loved their selfmade blackcurrant icecream with strawberries. I think i'll order another one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you for your kind post!

I am pleased to read that you found the icecream delicious!

Cheers,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Modern Estonian cuisine at MEKK. We called in for lunch as the Lonely Planet guide recommended the excellent value lunch time mains. We were surprised how quiet the restaurant was. The reason became clear when we discovered that MEKK no longer offers a discounted lunch menu! Perhaps it proved to be too popular. During our meal, a couple came in and left quickly and another only ordered starters so we suspect they were expecting the same as us! Cost wise, MEKK is on the higher side with mains over 20 euros. We had starters of rabbit soup and pork belly; mains of pork belly and pikeperch (zander). The food was very nicely presented and extremely tasty.

MEKK is a gourmet restaurant to be savoured. Highly recommended for a lingering lunch or romantic dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Rene Uusmees at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Norcs,

Thank you for your comments!

Firstly, I am very happy that you enjoyed your experience here overall!

And secondly, about the lunch menu: you are correct, we did not have the lunch menu available in the summer for couple of reasons. It is initially meant for a quicker business lunch and for the summer season we try to come up with different varieties.

As of September, though, we have the lunch specials available again!

I am looking forward to have you here again to try the newly upgraded lunch menu!

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nouvelle Estonian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very classy indeed. If you're used to huge helping of pork knuckle as Estonian food, Mekk will come as a surprise. This a very up market home of fine dining, and very fine it was too! I had perfect, delicious, soft and velvety venison with celeriac mash, and loved every bit of it. It's great to find you can eat so well in Tallinn!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much!

I am humbled to see you so pleased with Estonian food!
Your comment reveals exactly what we are thriving for in MEKK - the surprises of what Estonian food culture really holds within.

I cannot wait to have you here again and discuss this in person.

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant MEKK also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Restaurant MEKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant MEKK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.