We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paldiski Mnt. 4, Tallinn 10149, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    250
    127
    44
    23
See reviews for
98
162
27
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Spa was nice but hotel it self was nothing special. One of the extra beds had broken base. At breakfast 8am all the meats like meatballs and bacon were cold. Cleaning maid came to knock on the door around 10 a clock even check out is at 12.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasmus-Rai K, Manager at Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing the Meriton Grand Conference & Spa hotel and thank you for the feedback.
We are sorry to hear that not everything turned out as expected.

Regarding extra beds we have to admit that extra beds will always stay extra beds and they are not the same quality as proper beds. As we have almost 100 extra beds in the hotel then we are always glad to change the broken bed to another one which is in better shape. Unfortunately the extra beds are mainly ment for children and can easily broke when in use by adults. For adults we recommend additional room or Family rooms with three proper beds.

Breakfast is always a challenge for us especially when we have up to 1000 guests in house. We check our breakfast every day and are sorry if the warm dishes were not as warm or hot as expected.

Cleaning starts usually already early in the morning as many guests tend to leave the hotel already in the morning and do not stay always until noon. Then yes it might happen that the housekeeping will come to knock on your door to check have clients already left or no. To avoid that you can always use "Do not disturb" sign.

Welcome back!

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajaani, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were a group of 16 people and booked 10 rooms including two nice suites. Suite in the new part of hotel had great view outside. We booked Russian Festive Dinner from Balalaika restaurant and dinner was really good.

Group booking service was excellent. Also service was excellent, we got everything we wanted to the suite for our pre-parties.

I recommend this hotel also for bigger groups.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Well, I suppose I shouldn't have expected the world, but this being Estonia, capital of everything e-, I expected the wifi to be zippy. Or at least to exist. But, for the two nights I spent there, it was usually off, and when present excruciatingly slow. Not good for business travellers. My room was fine - it even had a minibar, a rarity these days - and breakfast dully standard. Don't expect to be able to get anything to eat or to drink if you arrive on a late flight, or leave on an early one. A plus: staff very friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasmus-Rai K, Manager at Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay in our hotel.

We would just like to give our comment regarding the wifi signal. As we have 465 rooms in the hotel then yes the wifi signal can be weaker in some rooms but it also depends on which device are you using. As know then different devices have different size of wifi antennas inside. So if one client is using a mobile phone and the other client a laptop then yes the signal can be different.
Our front office is always ready to change you the room in case you encounter a bad wifi signal.

What comes to a late night eating/drinking possibilities then we are in a process to keep at least one of our food outlets open during summer period longer than until midnight so that should give guests who come from the city very late a possibility to have something to eat and drink before going to bed.

Welcome back to the Meriton Grand Conference & Spa hotel!

Sincerely yours,

R-R.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debrecen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Infrastructure, services, meals are excellent, price is convenient. Worth to stay there. Tallinn is an extremely lovely city, it's a must. Conference conditions are good, a clock in these rooms would be useful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in end of March. Our room was in the older part of the hotel. The room was reasonably clean, but outdated. We could clearly hear the traffic sounds through the windows.

When we checked in, the receptionist was a bit rude to us. I started the conversation in English and she seemed to be uncomfortable with it. After seeing my passport (I'm a Finn), she tried to change into Finnish, so I had to explain my husband doesn't speak Finnish and that's why we want service in English. This made her visibly sour and she was rolling her eyes without hiding it to my questions. On the other hand, when I went to ask for a extra blanket, and later when checking out, we got good service.

The spa was nice in general, despite the fact that it's a bit outdated and some showers and warm beds seemed to be broken. I really enjoyed their four different saunas. There were suitable pools for kids, too. The only bad thing of the spa was that the same people were keeping the seats in Jacuzzis and saunas for themselves or their friends. Of course, this was not fault of the spa itself, more like due to the bad manners of other Finns and Russians :D

The breakfast was really typical big hotel/small budget.. Nothing to compliment about. The waiters were slow emptying the tables and some of the chairs and floors were quite filthy.

Location of the hotel is excellent if you don't mind to walk a bit. The old town and city center are within walking distance. Also route to harbour and Kristiine shopping center are walkable.

Room Tip: Try to get the room in the new part of the hotel. The "old wing" was quite shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasmus-Rai K, Manager at Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us this feedback.

We apologise that not all the things met your expectations and are sorry for the inconveniences regarding the check-in and room comfort.

Just to clarify for the future clients the hotel has two main room categories - Classic and Standard.
Classic rooms are as also the name says equiped with a Classical type of furniture. In Classic rooms you can open the windows which is not possible in Standard rooms. Overall Classic rooms are bigger than Standard rooms.
Standard rooms are more modern but as already mentioned it is not possible to open windows and rooms are mostly smaller with smaller bathrooms.

Both room types have rooms with different views either to the street side (to Toompea) or to the courtyard.

Kindly ask you to inform us regarding your preferences during the booking procedure or upon arrival.

Welcome back!

Sincerely yours,

R-R.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel, because it was a part of the cruise hotel packet. The receptionist was helpful and gave us 10e vouchers (per person), because their spa was not available. Our room was good as expected and it was located near the inner yard (quiet).

The breakfast was average, nothing special, but not disapointment either. The taxi was 5e to Linda Line -terminal and by walking app. 20 minutes. If we got a good bargain, we could stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel

Address: Paldiski Mnt. 4, Tallinn 10149, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel is located at the very heart of the capital, close to the Old Town and the Parliament, Paldiski mnt.4. Hotel offers easy access to the main shopping areas, theatres and the wide range of restaurants.Harbor 3 km • City center 0 km• Airport 7 km • Old Town 1 km • Shopping center 1 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Grand Conference And Spa Hotel
Meriton Grand Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.