We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paldiski Mnt. 4, Tallinn 10149, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Got a perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was really fascinated with the hotel. Well-furnished cosy rooms, quite small, but nice. The SPA complex was really good to chill out in the morning before the breakfast, that was good, nevertheless food is quite standard, but accompanied with the freshly baked croissants. It takes around 15 minutes to get to the old city by foot - the location is away from the tourist routes, but that makes the hotel atmosphere pretty calm. Good bar downstairs, had drinks there both nights - bar is full around 10 p.m., but still the service is fast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    218
    98
    35
    19
See reviews for
76
134
22
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good standard hotel in walking distance from everything. Breakfast just about standard level. The hotel was full booked, though there were enough with tables for everyone. Well done! Clean and well equiped rooms. Many restaurants, a bit pricy though. Many different saunas in the spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent here 3 days on a family vacation. The standard family room was roomy enough for 2 extra beds and the room location on 2nd floor was nice as we didn't need to wait for the elevators.

The wellness centre is nice, but if you want to make sure to get the spa treatments you want you need to book them in advance - I tried to book a day spa package of 2 hours when we arrived to the hotel but there were none available for our stay. The pool area is great with the kids (even though there are no slides), a bit worn but clean and there are different kinds of pools & saunas to use. The gym is OK.

One thing I can't recommend is the restaurants. The breakfast is, as said, poor and all the restaurants are very expensive. The quality on the Asian one (can't remember the name) is good though. The staff is very nice and service good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Good avarage hotel, didn't live up to its star ranking.

Positive:
-Good treatments in the wellness center
-A gym
-Big, really nice cafe
-Easy access with a car

Negative:
-Really poor breakfast!!!
-New and old part connected together to a one hotel: rooms at the new part are obvisously much nicer than in the old part - even they are the same price

Room Tip: Ask a room from the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasmus-Rai K, Manager at Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased that you have taken the time to share your experiences with the Tripadvisor community and therefore given us a change to say out also the hotel comments.
Regarding the breakfast we are working every day to make it better and more enjoyable for all guests no matter the citizenship, age etc. As we have all together 465 rooms and during peak times more than 1000 guests in house then the breakfast can be challenging because we need to keep all the customers happy and satisfied. Nevertheless we try our best every day and of course try to be excellent. So we hope that next time when you or anybody else comes to our breakfast you have only good things to say about it.
What comes to different room types then yes the hotel has two main types of rooms: Classic and Standard. Regarding the room rates the Classic room has usually a lower rate (when booking online) because it includes the usage of aqua & sauna center only in the morning 7-11 AM. If you choose the Standard room then the rate is higher but you have unlimited usage of aqua & sauna center included. Also gym is always included during the whole stay from 7 AM until 10 PM no matter how you make the room booking.

Once again thank you for your comments and welcome back to Meriton Hotels.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was my second stay at Meriton Grand. I stayed one night for business. At my arrival, the reception told me my room is not in the same part of the building as the conference I was attending.

It turned out my room was really far away. It also had a bad smell like old cigarette smoke. I went back to the reception and asked for a room without a cigarette smell. The receptionist looked at me with an open expression of disbelief on her face and assigned another room for me. It was even further away and had the same smell.

The room didn't have wifi although it was supposed to have it. No commercial Finnish TV channels either, which is poor for a Tallinn hotel. The room was old and the bed uncomfortable. The towels in the bathroom were small and old. The breakfast was straight from the 70's.

When checking out, I asked if I can leave my luggage and coat at the reception for a couple of hours. They said they don't take coats, which I find ridiculous.

All in all, I hope this was my last stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janarv, Revenue & Reservations Executive at Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate that you took the time to write this review. Despite the fact that the feedback is negative it is still very important to us because it helps us to improve our services and overall guest satisfaction.
We apologise for the inconveniences occured during your stay. Also please accept our apologies regarding the staff behaviour during check-out. Your feedback is shared also with the General Manager and involved staff members to avoid such incidents in the future.
We truly hope that you will give us another change to show you our professionalism and up to standard facilities. Kindly ask you to contact us whenever concidering you next trip to Tallinn.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

stayed here with 14 guys on a stag trip.the staff were great,polite and informative,with a sense of humour.one or two were a bit boisterous and misbehaved<nothing serious>> and the staff smiled and took it in there stride.rooms clean and well appointed.one of our group had the presidential suite and all were great value.did the karaoke night,good fun.food in the fish restaurant, was very fresh, downed with a bottle of Chablis.spa was amazing,two pools two saunas two jacuzzi and more.tried to get treatments but were fully booked suggest early booking.breakfast had all the usual food you would expect perfectly acceptable.great value well appointed would defiantly return

Room Tip: no room service if you are a nightbird get something from town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Meriton is well-located for easy walks to the Occupation Museum and Underground Tunnels, both highly recommended, and Old Town Tallinn. The older rooms are a bit larger and offer a great view, whereas the new wing is more modern and minimalist. No place to open suitcases conveniently. Interesting restaurants, especially Russian theme, in light of recent history. Criticisms notwithstanding, I'd stay there again if the price continues to be commensurate with the value.

Room Tip: Decide if your priority is modernity or view and ask accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel

Address: Paldiski Mnt. 4, Tallinn 10149, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel is located at the very heart of the capital, close to the Old Town and the Parliament, Paldiski mnt.4. Hotel offers easy access to the main shopping areas, theatres and the wide range of restaurants.Harbor 3 km • City center 0 km• Airport 7 km • Old Town 1 km • Shopping center 1 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Grand Hotel Tallinn
Meriton Grand Conference And Spa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.