We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienient and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn to your Saves list
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Convienient and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

I stayed here over new years and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is in a historic building but the interior is modern. The rooms are a little Ikea-esque and I would have liked something with a little more character but for the price we definitely couldn't complain. The room and the hotel in general was very cleanly and the staff were helpful. We had a really nice stay. The only problem was with noise if there is a party going on in the function room and the early morning clearing of snow in the courtyard which we could have done without but otherwise I would totally recommend this hotel. Great location close to the Old Town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    99
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
129
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

I checked into this hotel for a two night stay. When I got to the room, found out that the internet wasn’t working, so asked reception to come and have a look at it. Before they got there, went to the bathroom and found out that the toilet had not been cleaned. You should have seen the receptionist’s face when I told her I would like a room move – “Ah, a room move? Really?” I mean, are you SERIOUS? I don’t know if it was the language barrier of just plain lack of care, but she made me follow her back to reception, gave me a twin rooms (because we haven’t got anymore kings available) – fine – clean toilet? Hahaha – you gotta laugh so you don’t scream! During those two days I did everything I could to spend as little time in this hotel as possible. I gotta say that the location is quite good, at the bottom of old town – a quick stroll away, but I didn’t find the area didn’t have much to offer as far as nightlife/restaurants go. I would definitely recommend you stay elsewhere. I would have had I not pre-paid my entire stay – if you also have, make sure you bath in flip flops…

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed in this hotel two nights and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The staff is very incompetent both in the reception and in restaurant.

The rooms are quite OK, stayed in ZEN room with Jacuzzi (a normal bath tub with jacuzzi function). The room had a tiny roof window which was covered by the snow, so you didn't have any views or daylight. How ZEN is that? Asked for another room, but I was told the hotel was full booked. I checked their webpages (internet free of charge in the room, which was nice) and surprise surprise among their booking system they had many ZEN rooms available.

The walls of the room were very thin and you could listen to your room neighbor having a family discussion in the middle of the night. The door had no isolation either, so you had all noise from corridors too. So no good nights here....

On arrival the receptionist told us that the breakfast on Sunday would be until 11. However, when we next morning went to the restaurant at 10:30, the waiter told us that the restaurant was already closed. We went back to reception and another receptionist confirmed that the breakfast was until 11. We went back with receptionist and she told they will fill up again some food which they didn't. We had to ask some bread and cheese. Next morning we decided to arrive on time (the breakfast should start at 7). We arrived about ten past seven and the door was closed. However, it was unlocked and we got inside. The waiter gave us a grimace and looked us like what the HELL you ARE doing here. There were already some breakfast items, but not all. However, the breakfast seems to below the average but we cannot tell.

This hotel is very reasonably priced but there are many many better hotels in thesame price category in Tallinn. Try for example Nordic Hotel Forum instead. The jacuzzi was one reason for us to book this hotel but the bad management ruined it all. We won't definitely come back.

Be aware of not booking the taxi through the reception. If you call by yourself a taxi as we did you will pay aprox 55 crowns to the airport. The hotel would charge you 285 crowns. Event the receptionist told us that he finds the price a rip-off after having a discussion.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

this is a first class hotel both location to the old town and the amenities the Restaurant is very good value and has very good staff, the rooms are very clean and well equipted the hotel as a very up market feal we have stopped at some of the top hotels and for value for money this is a very good hotel would recomend this to an one thanks to all the staff and managment for a trully welcoming stay

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.