We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn to your Saves list
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Boutique hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you like small character hotels with staff who look after you as a person then this place is for you.

Being just on the edge of the centre is a bonus as you can park your car.

Miriam on reception was brilliant but the star was Kevin on the bar. His suggestions were perfect and knowledge of Tallinn were greatly appreciated.

Breakfast was really good having fresh fruit, Earl Grey Tea and Orange marmalade which is my gauge to a good hotel.

The courtyard in the summer must be stunning.

I think if you try it you will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    109
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
31
145
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. After traveling for 20+ hours and lost luggage it was nice to be greeted with a smile and quickly checked into our room. The room was smallish and a little warm, but we were able to open the window and get a cool breeze. The bedding was comfortable, not too hard or too soft. I liked the pillows. The bathroom was decent sized, soap was provided. The hotel was nicely appointed. Loved the aquarium at one of the entrances. The front desk staff was really quite helpful in providing directions and answering questions. They were kind enough to help my sister contact our travel agency to inquire about a lost item. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Old Tallinn, so very convenient to get to the square.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel with good services. Great location near old town.
Breakfast and Equipment were very satisfying.
Tallinn is a beautiful city with nice restaurants and coffees. Much things to see/do for a romantic prolonged weekend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled to Tallinn with my spouse in April.
We were celebrating our anniversary which I mentioned in the booking (we also paid upfront).
So we were having a romantic weekend in a much praised hotel.. what did we get for the sum we paid?

We asked for a room as high in the hotel as possible.. we got a room on the first floor.
The room was probably the tiniest one they had, and it got incredibly hot during daytime. We didn't receive even a tiniest gesture to notice our big day, nothing!
The water pressure in the shower was ridiculously weak and there were not even any toiletries.. I mean, really? (only crummy all-around shampoo, which we didn't dare to even touch)

I assume only way to have even basic service in this hotel is to toss cash around like a giant sprinkler.. everything cost extra..even to use their tiny sauna and swimming pool.
Maybe we have been spoiled rotten by other hotels we have been staying at but "service level" and the effort they provided seemed lacking and felt disappointing.

If you like being told that things you kindly ask for can not be arranged/ do not exist (although mentioned in their website) , with a smile, of course! (otherwise it would be rude), then maybe this is a suitable hotel for you.

I don't know why even mention the numerous services that are in reality impossible to arrange for the guests? In my opinion that just sets guests up for disappointment.

The breakfast was ok, with limited selection and the not-able-to-say-good-morning- staff. That was pretty much the only thing included in the room price.

Not even a good night's sleep was included.. there was absolutely NO soundproofing at all.. everything going on at the building was audible to our room.
In the middle of the night noise got bad enough to prevent us from getting any sleep and forcing us to contact the reception. The clerk on duty laughed to my face when I told about the issue. Then they checked the corridor once and that was it.

As a whole our experience was too much of a drop from our usual experience with various hotels before this one.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julija A, Front Office Manager at von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback and overview of your stay at the von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn – we are sorry that we have not met your expectations and have failed to deliver on some of our service promises – I would like to go through.

Part of the charm of the von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn is that it is a historic building – typically in these kind of smaller boutique style hotels, all rooms are of different shapes and sizes. Unfortunatelly some rooms are smaller than others, but they are still very nice. We have assigned for you a newly renovated room, facing to our beautiful court yard (which is a favourite of many guests). Standard rooms on the higher lever were occupied by long stay guest, so we did not have the possibility to give you a room on a higher floor.

We note that you have booked a „Standard Room“ through our webpage, where is writen that all standard rooms are with shower. In your special request you have added that you would like to have room with „bath“, which is a higher priced room category called „Zen“ and unfortunately these were assigned to guests that had paid for that category

We always try to make a free upgrade for our guests on their special day, but unfortunately it is subject to availability and as the hotel was quite fully booked, it was not possible on this occasion.

In all our standard rooms we provide high quality shampoo, which guest can use free of charge. In higher category rooms, starting from ZEN class, clients will get extra toiletries, such as shampoo and conditioner, showel gel, body lotion. Turn down service also is included starting from ZEN class.

Sauna with Japanese pool is for extra charge and this information is clearly writen on our home webpage http://www.vonstackelberghotel.com/en/content/japanese-bath-and-sauna.

In the middle of the night noise got bad enough to prevent us from getting any sleep and forcing us to contact the reception. The clerk on duty laughed to my face when I told about the issue. Then they checked the corridor once and that was it.

Could you please specify what may have caused the noise – other client’s, someone on the court yard etc. It would also be appreciated if you could mention the name of the receptionist that handled your complaint so as we can clarify her handling

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again at the von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn and be able to exceed your expectations in the future, as your experience certainly does not reflect the way we handle our guests – please do contact me personally should you decide to visit Tallinn and we would be happy to extend to you an upgrade to a Zen Class room


Kind regards,

Julija Andilevko
Front Office Manager
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotel is just on the edge of the Old Town, so handy for sightseeing and restaurants. The hotel itself is a well converted former nobleman's house, with smallish but comfortable rooms which are well equipped, including coffee making and wifi. The staff are friendly, breakfast plentiful and tasty. Sadly , didn't have time to use the spa but it looked nice.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordhorn, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

New, modern interior in an old buildung with spa zone, great location just a few minutes from the Tallinn's old town. Staff was very professional, friendly and supportive (special thanks to Mrs. Palvadere for useful advice!) Absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: Rooms to the backyard are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julija A, Front Office Manager at von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Stephan,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel! It was a pleasure accommodating you and we are certainly glad you enjoyed the stay.

I have passed this feedback to Mirjam Palvadre as well.

I hope we will see You again!

Best regards,

Julija Andilevko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Nothing bad to say. We stayed in Zen-room on top floor. We knew that the rooms with windows looking to a street side of hotel could be a bit noisy, so we asked to have a window towards the other side. The room was clean, nice and quiet. Service was friendly and location good with just a few minutes walk to old city center. I liked the decoration style of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julija A, Front Office Manager at von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank You so much for so great feedback.

I am so glad to hear that You have enjoyed stay in our hotel!

I hope we will see You again soon.

Best regards,

Julija Andilevko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Splendia, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.