We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something good, something bad. OK hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn to your Saves list
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something good, something bad. OK hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went to Tallinn for a long weekend and booked a Zen room at the von Stackelberg Hotel.

I've asked in advance for a room not facing street, but still got a room facing traffick and the room was small. I payed extra for the Zen room, and had to use the window sill for storage of one of our suitcases (we had two) in order not to use all the floorspace. Bathroom had next to nothing for storage. Beds where really good.

Breakfast was ok. Industrial scrambled eggs, but they had fresh salmon and an ok selection of ham and cheese.

The restaurant at the hotel serves excellent food. Ate one lunch and one dinner there, and it was some of the best food I ate in Tallinn (but you can eat there without living at the hotel).

The hotel has it's own spa, and it's very personal and gives you a welcome feel. I had feet and face treatment and was very satisfied.

Hotel is situated 5 to 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. The walk to the Old Town is very nice through parks and the Town wall.

All in all, this is not a bad hotel. But the size of the room and the feeling that I didn't really get anything extra for paying more (124 euros per night) and having traffick disturbing my sleep drags my average rating down.

Room Tip: As said I asked when I booked months in advance for room not facing traffick, but still didn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    99
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
129
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the von Stackelberg Hotel. It has some strengths but also more than one weak point.

The hotel is generally well located in Tallinn. Just outside the Old Town, just a short walk to "Oberstadt". However, after the weekend, I bleive, that the other end of the Old Town would be the better choice, if you want to have dinner in restaurants outside the touristik area. A lot of good restaurants are located between harbour and Old Town.

The rooms are okay, large enough and clean. The design is not one of the most modern, but still okay. The bed is also comfortable. We booked a ZEN room, whith a Jacuzzi. Although we only use it as a shower, the water pressure was disappointing. The last time I made this experience, was in a hotel room in London.

Anyhow, unacceptable was the smell in the room after a few hours without open windows. When you returned in the evening the whole room smelled like a toilet. We complained once, but the lady only shruged her shoulder's. When you open the windows, the situation improves quickly.

But now we are coming to another weak point: Even if you book a room located to the backyard, it is really noisy. You don't hear only the traffic from the crossroads, but also the staff in the morning,carrying trolleys and other stuff on the cobblestone. If you are used to sleep with open windows, you should keep this in mind! When the windows are shut, you don't hear anything.

The Spa was okay.

Even though we booked breakfast, we never tried it.

WiFi didn't work in our room and the computer installed with internet connection was very slow and not state of the art. This is really a surprise, because you have free and open WiFi connection in nearly every bar or restaurant in Tallinn.

We paid about 130 Euro per night, which is in my opinion at the upper end of the price range I expect for a hotel of this standard.

Frankly speaking: The three points assigned to this hotel are quite generous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here with 4 friends at the beginning of may 2013 for 3 nights and it was perfect in every way, lovely rooms, beds, food (both breakfast and La Boheme its restaurant) and very friendly and helpful staff and the hotel itself is just outside the old town. Also had lovely spa treatment. Tallinn itself was a fab city to explore and the Von Stackleberg is just the place to do it from!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for four nights and we were very satisfied. We stayed at a Zen Deluxe room and the room was clean, bigger than a normal hotel room and the bathroom was fresh and spacious. A jacuzzi bath was also available in the bathroom.
The room had wifi and also a stationary computer. We had a room towards the street, but the traffic noise was low and did not bother us.
The breakfast buffe was not huge but it was quite alright. It tasted good and the atmosphere in the cellar is cozy. But beware that the tables can be occupied fast, they are not so many.
A walk to the old Town took about five minutes, so the hotel is well situated.
We took a taxi to the hotel from the Airport and the tax was seven Euro. The same amount when we took the ride back to the Airport.
A nice touch was that we received some sweets and Tallinn liqueur in the evening by room service free of charge.
One night the in room dining was ordered to the room. It was fast, no problem ordering the food and it tasted good.
The only thing that was not good was that we had to call every night to receive champagne glasses.
The hotel is a good choice and very affordable. We would llike to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good hotel with friendly helpful staff. We asked for back of hotel as a few previous reviews had suggested, it was still quite noisy if you want to keep the windows open. We had a Zen room and bathroom smelt a little strange. Beds comfortable but floors under bed not swept and a very large but harmless Harvestman spider type insect was living in the light fitting. Fortunately we saw him on the day we checked out. Spa treatments well carried out and breakfasts were plentiful with a very good selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would recommend staying at the Von Stackelberg, but only if you book a room in the category Zen Deluxe and only if the room is facing the courtyard (e.g. Room 110). I glimpsed a standard room and it was too small to turn around in. The normal Zen room that we were given upon arrival had a tiny bathroom, it smelled of sewage and was on the ground floor facing a 6 lane street that cars went racing down. Horrible. The next day we upgraded to a Zen Deluxe room and demanded a room facing the courtyard. What a change! The room was great, coffee capsule machine incl. The bed was a delight to sleep in. The large bathroom with floor heating a nice touch. Breakfast buffet was a pleasure (different types of bread, choice of juices, various tasty cheeses and salamis, smoked salmon, cereals, jams, hard and soft-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages, fruit and even mustards). Anyone who complains about the buffet is mixing up 4 and 5 stars and should get real. Service and cleanliness were befitting a 4 star hotel. The location is to be seen strategically. You are exactly outside of the old city walls, which means a 5 minute walk to town square but you avoid the high level of noise from pubs, bars, restaurants and clubs. And there are a hell of a lot of these in Tallinn! To sum it up: If you choose the right room category, facing the courtyard, the Von Stackelberg is a great hotel. Everything else, book somewhere else. Simple as that.

Room Tip: Book Zen Deluxe, nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice, good clean hotel with a modern contemporary look and feel. I would recommend this hotel for couples, groups or even if your travelling alone. As a group of stag lads, we've had a great time and no issues with the hotel. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.