We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 out of 5” 5 of 5 stars
Review of von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn to your Saves list
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“5 out of 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice, good clean hotel with a modern contemporary look and feel. I would recommend this hotel for couples, groups or even if your travelling alone. As a group of stag lads, we've had a great time and no issues with the hotel. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    99
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
130
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in April, we were upgraded to a Zen room which was lovely and spacious. The staff were very helpful, friendly and the breakfast was great, with a very wide selection of fresh and cooked food. Tea/Coffee in the room as well as a spa bath!
The hotel is in a great location too.

However the room was in an annexe building on the 2nd floor so we had to carry large suitcases up (and down) 4 flights of stairs. Also the room was a double/twin and although a large suite like room, the bed could have been bigger and the room could do with suitcase racks and more hanging space.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have large bags as there are lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a zen room from Monday to Thursday in march.

Check-in was very smooth. We provided our passport details and credit card details but were not offended by that at all as most of the hotels in Europe do.

The room was adequate size and nicely decorated. It even has a bubble bath, which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was also nice with a variety of selections.

Only downsides are...

1. It is not a walking distance from the port. You need to catch a cab.
2. Some improvement needed with house keeping. On the first night, the hand soup and shower soup were both empty.
3. A bit noisy if your room is facing the main street. Our room was on the first floor facing the main street. Noise from traffic kept me awake a few times in the morning.

However, considering that it was only £50ish for 2 persons per night, I can say I am a satisfied customer. Also, Tallinn was such a lovely town and I would love to go back there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 24th March till 27th, the weather was clear and sunny during the day but was cold when not in direct sunlight. The nights really dropped in temp to well below freezing, you would not know it in this hotel which was warm and snuggly. The windows are large and let in lots of light and sun with thick walls which help with staying nice and warm.
We decided to get the bus from the airport into town and then walk from there to the hotel, this was the cheap option but in retrospect i would suggest getting a taxi to the hotel which is quick and smooth and cost us only 8euro on return.
While at the hotel we frequently spoke with hotel staff who were pleasent and helpful with all of our questions and offered good advice regarding sights and destinations. We had several drinks in the lounge which were prompt, we ate buffet breakfast every morning so did not recieve anyservice here but the food was plentiful and always available no matter what time we went down to eat. I cannot recall the staff's names but one female in particular was always smiling and seemed genuninly happy to help.
With regards to sleep i had no real complaints at all, the bed was comfortable and warm and a decent size for two. My only gripe was that with the two pillows one was firm and of good quality but the other was very loose and light and of no use to me. The large windows have good blinds that knock out most of the sunlight and keep the room dark, i slept well every night with little to no noise heard from outside or inside hte hotel.
The only area that i felt let down teh experience was the room cleanliness, dont get me wrong it was tidy clean and looked after by the good staff but there seemed to be a lot of dust on the bedding throw. I didnt really notice but my girlfriend suffers with allegies and this interfered with her a little bit. I need to stress the room was in no way dirty and did not require attention at all it just seemed to be the throw on the bed. Everything was replenished when needed and little chocolates at turn down were nice, my girlfriends eyes lit up everynight when she saw that.
The best thing in my opinion was the location of the hotel, it is over on teh west side of Old town and in an area that has a few hotels but not really a tourist location. The benefits are that town is a short and interesting walk about 10mins away but far enough away to not be noisey or bustling with people and noise.
Nearby are the nevsky cathedral and toompea hill which are both lovely, it is a little hilly so those with walking difficulty or lots of bags/children may wish to stay a bit closer. The old town is very hilly and cobbled so it would be difficult to avoid the hills.
We did use the spa on one night which cost 8 euros each, it costs this for an hour and a half but means the possibility of sharing with others. For 40 euro you get it to yourself, we had it to our selves for 8. The sauna was nice and the jacuzzi pool was good, i do like a swimming pool which this hotel does not have but it was not a great loss as the Meriton hotel opposite can accomodate this.
In summary the hotel ticks a lot of boxes and met our needs and expectations. It was very cold and it is clear that tourist season has not yet started so our experience is of a less busy time. In the warmer months the hotel would be busier so this could be a different experience but go now and have a lovely time

Room Tip: Go for a rear facing room, they face the courtyard and certainly at this time of year it is very pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in the Von Stackelberg hotel for 3 nights and it was great. I booked directly with the hotel and got a good deal. The hotel also organised pickup from airport as we arrived late in the evening. Breakfast was a good selection of cooked food, breads, cereals and fruit. Bed was very comfortable. We had dinner 1 night in the hotel restaurant and the cheese for starters is recommended. It is a short walk up the hill to old town and easy to find. I would stay in the Von Stackelberg Hotel again if visiting Tallinn,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Where should I start? Ok from the beginning, moment we checked in to the prison. Yes because this is how we felt like. After a long bus trip from Riga to Tallin and a super early start, we arrive at the hotel at 12.00. The lady at the counter gives us the forms to be filled, makes a photocopy of both our documents and forced us to hand over a credit card that she provided to photocopy as well. Despite having already paid in full. When we asked explanation she said it was a guarantee for the hotel. What about our guarantee? We basically gave all our personal details to this stranger. If they are so worried about people not paying the minibar or restaurant bill then they should ask for payment of extras straight away and send someone to check the room before guests leave to see if anything has been broken or taken from the fridge. We were obliged to hand over all this sensible information. We are still furious about this. Anyway, after this she told us to go back two hours later to get the room key. No explanation given. Maybe they give the rooms after 14.00, fair enough but she could have said something. Not a word, not an explanation, not an effort to check with cleaning staff if any room was available already. I was utterly tired and really wanted to freshen up, I think it was quite obvious we were tired. Again not a word to offer us to use any restroom facility in the lobby area or to wait in the restaurant or bar in the hotel. We would have been happy to get lunch or a drink (and pay for it of course) but the way we were welcomed was atrocious. So we left and had to wonder around for other two hours. In that moment we decided not to spend a single penny there. If things would have been different I was also planning to have a spa treat. Maybe the hotel or staff policy is to upset people and avoid extra income.

Finally we get the room, we went back after 14.00. I was expecting something really pretty and had expectations that were crashed when we got in and the room smelled of sewage and was tiny and noisy. When I booked I asked for a courtyard room but of course they gave us one on the first floor, close to the front desk and in front of the cleaning storage. The first night they were drilling the road just in front of the hotel and we could not sleep at all. As you can see in the picture the cleaning trolley was part of the landscape, permanently parked there, first thing to see when opening the door. The room is so small that I could barely go to bed as it was so close to the wall. The wardrobe is tiny too, don't even think you can fit a suitcase in there or hang much clothing. merely a coat. The shower is very small and looked old and dirty, not to mention the rest like the broken lock in the bathroom and the broken pep hole in the door. What can I say? Worse hotel ever. I travel a lot but this was far beyond. Good luck to them and thank you for this wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrTll, Owner at von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We find some of your comments are valid, but we also find your other feedback is somewhat unreasonable.

We would like to explain a couple of things you pointed out. Firstly, why our receptionist asked you to fill out registration cards is that we are required to ask such details from our guests due to Estonian laws regarding Tourism and Hotel industry. We are very sorry that our receptionist on duty did not explain this to you why we need such information, but I believe that this procedure is common practice in all reputable hotels

It is also common practice in hotels to kindly request for client’s credit card details to secure extra services that clients may request during their stay, but we can assure you that we do not photocopy credit cards, we just insert the details to our Property Management System, where these are kept secure. Of course if a clients feels that sharing their credit card information is unacceptable to them, we understand this and they will be still accommodated, but will not be able to benefit from signing services used to their room....rather they will be asked to pay for each service in cash or credit card at the time of use

As we were fully booked the night before your room was not ready by noon and as our check-in starts at 14:00 which is clearly stated in Expedia as well as all our booking platforms, our receptionist asked you to wait until this time. We do agree that our receptionist should have been more attentive to your needs and inform you about our facilities we have and you could have used during your wait.

We have not recorded any feedback from you during your stay that you were unhappy with your room or you had asked to have your room changed. Requests put through online booking channels are requests we take into consideration and will do our best to meet these depending on availability. You were accommodated in a room on the corner of the court yard and not entirely on the street side. Unfortunately we were fully booked during this weekend, which made it difficult to find a more suitable room for you

We are very sorry that the room you were accommodated in did not meet your expectations, and unfortunately the bathroom lock and door view hole were damaged by the previous guest, but we can assure that we fix such issues as soon as possible, and thank you for raising this issue

We hope you understand that we are not responsible for the drilling on the street, because these works were done by City of Tallinn and we usually are not given any notice about it. We have earplugs available at our reception for clients for such occasions as stated in the guest directory in your room

We have now spoken with the receptionist on duty during your check-in and she understands the areas where we need to improve our guest handling. We train our staff on a regular basis and we can assure the quality of service is very important to us.

Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback and sincerely hope that should you visit Tallin again, please do let me know personally so I can assure you that we can exceed your expectations at the von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

+ good value for money
+ friendly stuff
+ quiet location
+ free parking space

- cheap mattresses, too soft and uncomfy (in "Zen" suite)
- don't expect any "boutique" special or romantic atmosphere. This hotel is a group-oriented.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.