We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life after upgrade.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Save Saved
You added von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
helsinki
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Life after upgrade.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent one night here in January. First we got room at first floor, just behind the reception desk. View to buses stopping in traffic lights, the tourists were waving at us. Thanks but no thanks. We got an upgrade for a nominal fee, which was ok. Of course as a hotel, you have to rent out these "Room 101´s´", but I still wonder... it is ideal for the receptionist to take a nap in the quiet wee hours, but other than that, no. The "Zen" room in 3rd floor we finally got was very good with its jacuzzi. Staff ok, breakfast nothing to write home about, location good, as to the rate: little pricey, but it was high season, so no complaints about that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    83
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
26
104
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A delightful hotel, had a great stay in this beautiful city. Rooms are light and spacious, breakfast plentiful and varied, bar and restaurant in lovely surroundings. The location is ideal, a ten minute stroll to the stunning old town and five minutes from the Nevsky cathedral. Parts of the old town can be very loud at night so this hotel is in a perfect location for a tranquil stay. I can thoroughly recommend both Tallinn and the von Stackelberg hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spend a minivacation there to see a concert and stay was very pleasant. We had room with jacuzzi and that was very nice for relaxation after long walk through Tallin. We late lunch at hotels court yard and food was very nice. Location was good, not too walk to old town and other sights. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. I booked a superior room and on arrival we were upgraded to a Zen deluxe suite which was a huge room on the 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard.
The room was nice and warm but had windows that open up if you want some fresh air. The bathroom had a large corner jacuzzi tub which felt amazing after the sub-zero temperatures outside.
Lots of nice touches such as an espresso pod coffee maker and underfloor heating in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was an amazing spead of hot and cold food. We booked private use of the cozy Zen Spa in the basement, which was beautifully designed and finished and was inexpensive.
The old town was an easy, scenic walk uphill from the hotel, it all looked very magical covered in snow.
Staff were always friendly and helpful and overall I'm very glad I booked and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Courtyard view 3rd floor room was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel Von Stackelberg should be better defined as a good B&B, with rich breakfast (very good fruit-jams) and cozy rooms. However some services and some faciloties of a 4 star are really missing. Spaces, starting with lobby are not wide inside and access to hotel is very difficult (you have to carry your bag on stairs until entrance (it is not at same level of street) and if it is snowing it may be very dangerous). Rooms are nice. There are two types Zen and Superior. I would recommend zen that are wider.

Room Tip: Choose Zen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I can't complain about this hotel, just a 10 minute stroll from the old town and its beautiful viewpoint which overlooks the city. The Room was beautifully arranged and there are TV channels to accomodate anyone. The Buffet was cosy and my room had a view of a snow filled courtyard. If I ever go back I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a nice stay at the hotel. The superior room booked was big and had a bobble-bath in the bathroom. Also the SPA area was quiet nice. It does not seem to be used very often, but the sauna and the pool seemed very clean.
The breakfast instead was very disappointing due it its lack of taste and variety.
The hotel is nicely located and only 10 minutes away from the very center of Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.