We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel just not special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Save Saved
You added von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 85 hotels in Tallinn
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel just not special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a nice stay at the hotel. The superior room booked was big and had a bobble-bath in the bathroom. Also the SPA area was quiet nice. It does not seem to be used very often, but the sauna and the pool seemed very clean.
The breakfast instead was very disappointing due it its lack of taste and variety.
The hotel is nicely located and only 10 minutes away from the very center of Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    91
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
26
118
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This small hotel definitely fullfilled our expectations and it is very well situated near the old town.
Very pollite and helpful staff, clean rooms, excellent breakfast. Hotel also has a spa and our rooms were upgraded, which meant we had jacuzzi in our room - nice touch. Great value for our money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room 401 which is in a separate building to the main hotel.

Booked this through booking.com and was offered an upgrade. Got to the hotel from the air port we got the bus 90k coat €2 each and the stop was down the road about a 1 minute walk away. Upon arrival we were given the room key but the room was not for the upgraded room. Wetland asked, they didn't havevtge uo grade info and did not have any normal zen rooms available so we were upgraded to a zen dulux room free of charge!!!
Breakfast was great
The room- very large, flat screen tv and internet own seating area with sofa. Lovely bathroom with jacuzi bath (small but very very nice) clean bathroom and towels very soft.

Great room staff super helpful close old town but a little walk away maybe 5-10 mins.
Great place in a nutshell. Will be booking again for the new year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on a sightseeing trip to Tallinn. Room was light, clean and airy. Bed was so comfy! Breakfast was really good, service was brill and not a long walk to the heart of the Old Town. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercorin
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were assigned one of the smallest standard rooms according to the floor plan (room 212) but it was fully equipped with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, cable internet screen and keyboard, hot water kettle,minibar and small desk. Bathroom was small and lacked tisue dispenser, board for toiletries and had high bathtub/shower not easy to climb in for elderly people. Breakfast buffet was generous and high quality. Hotel is located at busy intersection but rooms going on courtyard are fairly quiet. 15' walk to Old Town and definitely worth a few hours visit. Front desk staff very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room going on courtyard and 3rd floor is possible. Better for good night's sleep, espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very nice hotel, couldn't fault the decor or amenities, or cleanliness, very nice room overall. Really comfy beds and free internet usage. Loved the spa bath (could have done with a shower curtain though as difficult to shower without it going all over the floor!). Excellent location. Only 5 minute walk (uphill unfortunately) to the old town. Excellent breakfast and reception service. Only problem was the live band which was booked to play for an event (for non hotel guests) in the building in the courtyard. Aswell as the noise, security seemed to be a bit lapse, as the courtyard was secured by a metal gate onto the street, but this was kept open, so anyone could walk in. The WC for this event was on the ground floor of our building, so our building door was kept open and guests to the event walked in and out of our building all night, which didn't leave us feeling very secure. When I complained, was told they were due to finish playing at midnight but had booked the room until 1am. As the courtyard is central to the hotel property I'm sure we weren't the only people who got no sleep that night. Even though the music did stop at about midnight, the band seemed to bang every single piece of equipment on the way out!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. When I checked in, they said I had been upgrades into a "Zen" room. Their spa is called Zen, and I take it this was some kind of cross-promotion they were doing to try to make the hotel feel more like a spa.

The room was very clean and a good size for Europe. The bathroom had been re-done in modern style. There was a very nice jacuzzi-style tub, but it had high walls and was a bit off the ground, so it was a bit difficult to get in... Almost like you needed stairs. There was something above the bathroom ceiling that kept making a loud, vibrating buzzing sound, that went off every 5-10 minutes, I could never determine the source of the noise, and when I was about to complain about it at 1:30 in the morning because it was keeping me up, the noise inexplicably went away and I didn't hear it the rest of my stay.

The shades in the room had about a 2 inch space between them, and the room I had faced east, so the morning light came in very early in the morning. Also, the walls are paper thin. You can hear every step of anyone in the hallway walking by, as well as every flush of your neighbor's toilet, every noise in your neighbor's room, and if they had their tv on, there was no need to turn yours on because you could hear every word of it.

The location was nice. It's at the base of the main hill going up to old town. If you have mobility problems and wish to explore the Old Town, I would not suggest this hotel, as the walk up the hill can be tiring, although to be fair I am a bit out of shape...

I don't eat breakfast, so I can't comment on the quality of the included breakfast.

When I went to check out at 5:30 in the morning, there were two people at the front desk. One was on the phone, and the other pretended to look busy. Although there were no other customers in the lobby, it took them approximately 5-6 minutes before they acknowledged my presence and then another 5-6 minutes to actually check me out of the hotel, even though the room had been prepaid...

All in all, the hotel looks nice and is very modern, but it's not very comfortable, especially if you are a light sleeper!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 85 hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.