We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Kiwi Backpackers

The Flying Kiwi Backpackers
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Flying Kiwi Backpackers to your Saves list
The Flying Kiwi Backpackers
Nunne 1, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Well...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Double Room. Location is great, stuff looked very friendly, but room was dirty (except for bed linen, it was fresh and clean)! Instead of curtains there was some rag. Room was very cold, though we were there in April. In room there is no any chair or another place to seat (except only dirty windowsill and bed which has no bedcover). Bathroom stinks of mould. Kitchen was not so clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
7
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great hostel in the perfect location. We stayed in one of the double rooms in July 2012. Everything is very clean, we never had to wait for either bathroom or shower and the staff is very friendly. They answer every e-mail promptly and even helped us carry up our luggage. The "funny smell in the stairs" mentioned in previous reviews is just the smell of a very old building with a slightly damp staircase, so don't let yourself be discouraged - there is no funky smell at all in either hostel or rooms. We looked at a lot of hostels before chosing this one and remain convinced that it is probably the best hostel in Tallin. Good value for money as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location is central and easy to find, just up the road from the main square and close to a great convenience store. The staff are wonderfully helpful and great fun, they certainly do all they can to make your trip special. As Tallinn has become such a party city they cater for that and can show you the very best night. In terms of facilities they have a reasonable kitchen with a fridge big enough for all who come and a freaking Sauna! SAUNA! Yes that's right... SAUNA. Beds are comfortable, rooms are perfectly sized and washing facilities work wonderfully. I would recommend to anyone that goes to Tallinn

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very comfy and friendly, stairs up to the place have a funky smell to them and a small climb but once inside no problems, dorms have no bunkbeds and a fairly clean..you have to be 5ft to stand up in the toilets lol....staff are awesome and very helpfull. Great place to stop

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Fantastic location In the old town, some steep steps to get up but once you're at the top the hostel is warm and comfortable.

Unfortunately on our first night we were bitten by bed bugs which is why we can't give the hostel a better rating. The staff were great though, moved us into a new room straight away, also gave us the address of a laundromat so we could get everything that had touched the bed washed.

No problems in the next room, rest of stay was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen, it's noisy with people coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed with 7 friends in the dorm room. The flatbeds were a refreshing change from bunks, and the room was warm and comfortable, even with minus temperatures and snow.

Hostel has ample showers, toilets and kitchens and as an added bonus a sauna for when you get in from the cold.

The host, Jenn, was the best part. From my initial emails asking for info and directions, to any other request during our stay, she was fantastic. Great recommendations for places to eat, (purgo and African kitchen), and happy to chat and make anyone welcome.

It felt like I was staying at an old friends rather than a hostel and the whole team should be applauded for that.

3 of my group had never stayed in a hostel before this visit, but on leaving, said they would never stay in a hotel again as it was so good, which I suppose is t best review I could give.

Location was good too, and if I returned to Tallinn I'd look no further.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hostel is in the perfect place to explore Tallinn Old Town. The staff are really helpful and friendly, will give you loads of advice and take you out for a beer.

It's a little dated (but renovations were being done whilst we were there) and a little dusty, but if you just need a place to sleep, it's fine.

The stairs up to the hostel take a bit of getting used to....but the smiling staff at the top are always willing to help with bags etc.

The only problem I found with our room was that as it leads directly off the communal kitchen, you could hear every word spoken as though the person was sitting next to you! Not the best situation after a weary day of walking when you want some sleep and a rowdy crowd wants to get drunk!

However, for a short stay, it's the perfect location for sight seeing and friendliness!

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#5 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#4 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tabinoya OU
Tabinoya OU
#1 of 40 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tallinn Raekoja Residence
Tallinn Raekoja Residence
#20 of 95 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Kiwi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Kiwi Backpackers

Address: Nunne 1, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Flying Kiwi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Kiwi Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.