We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex-Mex if you only only ever witnessed it on TV” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina

Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina
Pikk tn 43, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
+372 631 1755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "No one does americana quite so well in Tallinn" Lonely Planet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex if you only only ever witnessed it on TV”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

One of my dear Estonian friends decided that it would be good fun to have me witness Tex-Mex Estonian style by taking me to this place. Having grown up in the southwest US, I am always up for seeing new and interesting interpretations of the region, especially from cultures that are a little skittish with the idea of cooking with habaneros.

This place went all out, which was a lot of fun to see. The décor was interesting, with various US issued license plates and other Texan/Mexican memorabilia on the walls. The menu also looked pretty authentic. The food, though, was a bit of a miss. Things like tacos and quesadillas were sorta the right shape, but the flavours that one would expect were not there. It was almost as if someone had watched lots of spaghetti westerns and decided to use everything that they saw in them as the basis for making a restaurant. It is really too bad, though I am sure that it would fool most people who have not been to the Lone Star State.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanitaTX, Manager at Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Sorry, it seems you may have grown up in southwest but probably not in Texas. This is a reason why we take the reviews by native Texan and Mexican you can see below much more seriously. But no problem if we're not correct - Texas is the big country and rich of varieties. We had a fight in our kitchen between two Mexican brothers recently. They were arguing how to make the right guacamole.
BTW, we haven't seen any spaghetti westerns. Could you recomend us your favorites?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    47
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“THE REAL HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Seldom does one find the real TEXAS experience away from










Seldom does one find such great food and beer in the
Texas style away from
Texas. Great good, drinks, and staff. I know as I am a life long Texan.











Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanitaTX, Manager at Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much. We are happy we could bring a lifelong Texan back home for a moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home avay from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Been there, tried it all, have a t-shirt...
First of all- great staff! They seem to have found a founyain of youth and happiness! Out of many times I have been there, no matter how overcrowded they seem to find time to make you feel welcome, all the time, everytime...
Food - for me its just heavenly (of course as in tex-mex expect certain degree of spicyness-reaaded review before where somebody complained about it, but if you dont like a spicy food ask staff and they will gladly help you to find something milder) Personally for me I would like to see little more cajun flavour, but that's just me...
Atmosphere- as a big fan of country music and down to earth country bar atmosphere I absolutely love it
Oh I almost forgot to mention - prices are really descent for old town - way cheaper than in old Town Square!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanitaTX, Manager at Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It made us all really happy and motivated entire team. We hope to see you at Texas Honky Tonk again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“finally a place to get it hot hot hot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had lunch at honky tonk and enjoyed it very much. The meny is very good, with something for the spice lovers (like my husband and my father in law) and for those who dont need as much spice (like me) and they really got it spicy!!
Decour is fun, and you get in the honky tonk mood right away:)
The food was very tasty, cheep ( tacos for around 7 litas) and a great place to have lunch.
Would recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good texmex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Felt really guilty going to a texmex joint in Estonia, but that feeling dissolved quickly once I tasted the Chilli! Who'd have thought the best chilli I've ever eaten would be in Estonia? Good food and beer and reasonable prices if you fancy a taste of home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.