We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop halfway up Toompea hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bogapott

Bogapott
Pikk Jalg 9, Tallinn 10130, Estonia
+3726313181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 546 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Description: Bogapott is an art shop, cafe and ceramic studio. Who wouldn't love the idea of sitting in a peaceful Old Town courtyard in summer, drinking coffee from cups, made on the spot? It's no just the atmosphere and diversity of this place in Toompea which is unique, but also the works of artists you can't buy from any other places in Tallinn.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice stop halfway up Toompea hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Bogapott is a cute little place on the way up to Toompea hill. We stopped in because a sign advertised “leivasupp” (translated as “bread pudding,” but really more of a very sweet black-bread-based soup/porridge) for just one euro. One leivasupp and two coffees made for a nice break on the way up the hill. Bogapott is a retail store as well as a bar/restaurant, with very nice pottery/ceramics and other gift items.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
“Lovely, quirky little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Sitting and enjoying Bogapott's hot chocolate upstairs in the cafe looking over the balcony. If you want a respite from the cold in winter there's also a real fire in the room behind the counter. We didn't need much convincing to have a slice of their homemade apple crumble and cheese cake with our drinks - very scrummy and came in at 6 euros for the lot, so good value too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Hot Chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Best location for the best hot chocolate in the Old City. I special like upstairs with angels, And you can buy ceramics here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family & budget friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great little find in old town Tallinn. The star of this cafe is the pottery studio attached to it. I ended up finding lots of gifts for friends in the studio. They were far cheaper and handmade than many of the other items I found in other shops. We got to eat and shop all in one stop! The waitstaff was very friendly, the setting is perfect. Great beer, pretty good food (not a fan of Estonia bread pudding). For us the most important part was the kids could find things they liked on the menu. Having come from Russia and Scandinavia, there is only so much herring you can ask an 11 year old to eat. This place made them hot dogs. They were thrilled. The atmosphere could not be beat, especially on a nice Summer day. Easy to find, nice menu with a good selection. Happy we stumbled upon this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice budget restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my wife were running away from the not-so-honest price of the center of Tallinn while, going uphill, we spot this partially hidden cafe in the way from the town square to the historical hill. The food was nice and the price indeed low. The desserts are very good. The main flaws are: closes very early, not much choice. Recommended location for a fast and nice lunch. (great sachertorte)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogapott also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Bogapott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogapott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.