We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-in dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dominic

Dominic
Vene 10, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
+3726410400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 598 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Dominic Restaurant in the heart of Old Town of Tallinn is a cosy dining place for all worshippers of European cuisine. Wine enthusiasts can choose their favourite from among 400 different wines. Restaurant Dominic won "Best Restaurant" and "Best Chef" categories at the Silverspoon Awards 2012 held by the Gastronomy Society of Estonia.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All-in dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked a table well in advance. However the Monday is not the most busy night in Tallinn. Our host waitress paid attention to all details, was calm and clearly a professional. As my wife and me ordered different courses, we went for wine by the glass. The recommended pairing fitted the food perfectly. The price-qual was superb, we had dinner in other restaurants and those couldn't live up to our first Tallinn dinner experience at Dominic. In the cellar you can find a nice cigar lounge to finish with a digestive and a topnotch cigar. The restaurant is located opposite Hotel Telegraaf.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    65
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent! Must visit restaurant in old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Exellent dishes, great flavors, friendly service, couzy interior - worth for price asked! Five stars from us, will recommend.
Altough hard to find table; you have to resrerve table at least a day before visiting.
Couzy sigar room in cellar!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Food, wine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was one of the best food experiences in a long time. The atmosphere is very nice in this old, traditional Tallinn building. You are met in a professional manner by very service minded and friendly staff.

The wine list is impressive - they do their own import. The menu is very interesting with traditional, short traveled food.

We got an amuse bouche that prepared us for the meal. I had the Deer fillet tartar with beetroot-horseradish cream and aioli which was heavenly. For main, I had the Elk fillet with fried mushrooms, Chorizo, black rice and beetroot cream. The beef was so tender you could eat it with a spoon, and the richness of the flavors where amazing. For dessert I had the White chocolate and goat cheese cream with almond bisquit and pear sorbet. Again - excellent.

This is a place I will return to - already planning my next trip to Tallinn to enjoy an evening here again!

Superb!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A wholesome experience from the amouch bouche to the dessert, with a little refreshener in the middle between the meals. Wow.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Michelin quality-A perfect meal in a charming restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Like many places in the old town, the restaurant dates back to the 14C so the setting certainly helped create a special atmosphere. However, the quality of the food, the presentation, the wine list and the service were Michelin quality. Prosecco to start and then an Amuse bouche was offered before our starter of liver paté plate. The Isole e Elena chianti was a great match. Next was a sorbet in sparkling wine taster-just right. Our main course of deer/reindeer (translation issue) with a delicate sauce accompanied by black rice and beetroot mouse was one of the best dishes I have ever had. Truly great.The meat was unbelievably tender and the whole course was beautifully balanced. Though I was a little sceptical of the recommended wine, a Luberon, I have to admit, it was a fabulous choice. Dessert was a crème brülée to die for. All finished off with Vana Tallin. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominic also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Dominic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dominic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.