We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there. Have a dinner if you're at Tallinn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dominic

Dominic
Vene 10, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
+3726410400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 599 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Dominic Restaurant in the heart of Old Town of Tallinn is a cosy dining place for all worshippers of European cuisine. Wine enthusiasts can choose their favourite from among 400 different wines. Restaurant Dominic won "Best Restaurant" and "Best Chef" categories at the Silverspoon Awards 2012 held by the Gastronomy Society of Estonia.
Lappeenranta, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Go there. Have a dinner if you're at Tallinn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Located in the Old town, this restaurant is I would say easily in top 5 at Tallinn. We didn't make a reservation before we went there but we got the table very easy. Maybe it was because we went there to have dinner and we were kind early.. I think we were there at 16:15 or something.

We ordered as appetizer some rabbit liver mousse and grilled rabbit with forest mushrooms. The liver was perfectly done, just a hint of red in there. We ordered some red wine with our main course but we had different courses. I had grilled duck fillet and duck leg and one of us took beef tenderloin and stewed beef cheek. Surprisingly they found a wine that fitted perfectly with both! Duck fillet was perfect, but duck leg was maybe a little bit overcooked.

All and all we got a three-course meal in a reasonable price and a very atmospheric experience. Unfortunately we didn't have a chance to try cigar room because they were just changing the cigar importer and didn't have any good cigars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    76
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Charming place with tasty cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Beautiful interior, quiet and very cozy.
Restaurant is suitable for romantic dates.
Delicious and well-presented dishes.
Between courses you will be offered compliments from the chef.
Service on the top level.
Highly recommend for romantic occasions and meetings with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Every time when we visit in Tallinn we try to eat there. Unfortunately it is very popular and often full.
It is not the cheapest restaurant in Tallinn but worth to go and eat. Excellent food, good service and nice athmosphere. Look www.restoran.ee
I hope they can keep good quality and reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Quality and taste of food was excellent, the first class. And what a wine list, there are available real quality wines. Reservation seems to be must, without reservation You could get table in bar area (as we did). Highly recommended restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“disappointing service and misleading information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been in this restaurant several times and i have been quite satisfied. This time everything went wrong. I checked the menu on the web (www.restoran.ee) but in the restaurant the menu was different and the prices were much higher than on the web. We were planning to have lunch and hoped to get back to work after lunch. The waiter took our order for main course and said that the dessert menu will be given to us later. It took over an hour to get the food. Nobody explained, nobody apologized. We had been there so long so we had to skip dessert. There are serveral good restaurants in Tallinn so i am not planning to go to Dominic any time soon (although the food was reasonably good).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominic also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Dominic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dominic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.