We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy restaurant that lives up to its reputation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tchaikovsky

Tchaikovsky
Vene tn 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
+3726000610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 546 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $73 - $147
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A classy restaurant that lives up to its reputation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This restaurant is excellent in every way. The piano trio and rain on the glass roof only added to the appeal. The other diners were having the six course price fixed menu and were obviously veterans of this special place. The only superior meal we had in the Baltics was Vincent's in Riga.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    52
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wow should be Michelin rated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a meal here with my wife on Saturday , what can I say great great meal , great service , fantastic setting , not one complaint. Had the set menu with wine as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely food, dramatic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We had rain on the sunroof which added to the ambiance. Although formally laid, the meal and service were tasteful and tasty. There were other waiters who were a little theatrical but our waitress was understated and timed the service well. I gave four stars rather than 5 as there was a few draughts and other guests required blankets over their shoulders.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pathetic place with a decent kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Were at this restaurant in early May, when staying at the hotel Telegraph. Efficient and polite waiters, decent kitchen (ordered lobster soup with sugar peas, saffron cream and roasted pigeon fillet and halibut), original dessert. The only negative - expensive for Tallinn. Recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Tchaikovsky, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Tor89,
Thank you also for your kind review on the Hotel Telegraaf’s Restaurant Tchaikovsky !
I must admit, English not being my mother tongue either, that I was initially somewhat baffled by the heading of this review: the word „pathetic“ took me a bit aback.
Yet as the read continued I was so pleased to understand you did enjoy your visit and had a great time and are recommending it! Thank you !

Thank you again, dear Tor89, for your recent patronage both of the Hotel Telegraaf and the Restaurant Tchaikovsky and if and when your travel plans bring you back to Estonia it would be our pleasure indeed to be able to welcome you back to Tallinn’s Old Town; to the Hotel Telegraaf.

With our very best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good meals but a bit overpriced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

It had nice local and Russian cuisine touch. Food was nice but a bit overpriced. Wine list was quite nice (overpriced as in Estonia usual and I had to send 2 bottles of wine back what they accepted as with older red wines it happens). For Estonia had several nice small innovations for surprise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tchaikovsky also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Tchaikovsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tchaikovsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.