We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, clean and quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Spa & Conference Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Strand Spa & Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Strand Spa & Conference Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tammsaare 35, Parnu 80010, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Parnu
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Functional, clean and quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was here for a conference and in that respect all was functional, clean and quiet. The room was very basic (not a single picture on the walls) and the shower flooded the bathroom - wetroom style that just got too wet. The yellow paint felt a bit institutional. The decor elsewhere is dated and some of the public areas are quite dark but I found the staff efficient and the food good. I wouldn't book this hotel for a holiday - just too basic. It's a short walk from the beach (sandy) which wouldn't be ideal with kids and I was disappointed that I had to hire a bike if I wanted to get into town - I think guests should be allowed to borrow bikes free of charge; the walk took me about 25 minutes. Transfer to Tallinn by coach takes about 2 hours and the road is straight and flat. Didn't have time for the spa - can't comment.

Room Tip: Some rooms had balconies and faced the sea. The higher up the better the view over the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    27
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
21
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was a bit worried having read some of the reviews just before going to the Strand Hotel in Parnu. I could not fault the hotel. The people at the reception were pleasant and helpful. The room was nice and cleaned everyday and was quiet and bright. The Spa was excellent and was in it everyday and loved it. I had two treatments in the Welness centre and found them to be great value. The location was excellent - beside the beech and a stroll to the town - also discovered free bus every couple of hours which did a pick up at the vrious hotels.Hired bikes from hotel on two different days and they were lovely bikes and Parnu is a safe place to cycle. Breakfast was of a high standard and had variety. Loved our stay at this hotel and if I was going back to Parnu it would be the hotel for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Service: Service was really basic and little bit unpredictable, because there were situations, where my mother language was enough and when I had to speak English. However, I have nothing bad (nor good) to say about service. It was average in overall.

Value: I think the value was average, because the rooms were not cheap or overpriced. They were... Yes, average.

Sleep quality: you might hear some noise from the corridor or outside so I have to rate sleep quality as average.

Cleanliness: it was basic. Towels were changed every time, but bed sheets were not. However I think that cleanliness was very good. I mean, I have seen worse. :)

Location: I think that location was pretty good, because the Pärnu beach was near and town too.

Rooms: Average. Old tv, bad tv channels, but very good air condition. And also mini bar. Nothing fancy.

Spa: Pretty poor though there is pretty decent pool. Contains one bubble bath, two pools and steam sauna. And there was also traditional finnish Sauna also. Try the "stone chairs", they are warm!

Breakfast: Average buffet breakfast containing some Nordic food and also "english" food with bacon and eggs. I have to say, that I have seen better breakfasts in the another hotels.

Tip #1: Rent a bike! If you rent a bike, you can travel fast and cheap and you will see the whole town easily.

Tip #2: Go to the beach. It is beautiful.

Tip #3: There is small food store in the Karuselli 91. We said, that it is "cat-market" due their sign. Use it.

Tip #4: Swim! The biggest pool is pretty decent and after you have swam, you can go to the terrace to take some sun.

Tip #5: If you like minigolf, try it in the hotel.

Room Tip: Well, avoid first (ground) level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The homepage states "Strand wears its **** mark proudly". For us it was not more than a 2-Star Hotel. We were very unfriendly advised by the "Wellness-Staff" not to enter the Wellness-Area as we were exactly 4 minutes to late. That is not an actitude I expect to see in my vacacions which I pay for.
The breakfast-buffet smells like hell of fish. The coffee is of poor quality as well. There is no smile from the restaurant staff and no good morning as I expect in a Hotel of this category.
As of its impressive orange color the bathroom in our room left the impression of a hospital. The whole bathroom was usually flooded after showering as there was no shower cubicle. Just a lousy curtain. The tv remote control was partly not working.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Rooms were clean and standard. We had a small balcony which was also nice. Air-conditioning also worked well. We also got a baby bed from reception. Breakfast wasn't the best but better than average. There were all sorts of things available but some didn't have as good quality as other. Yet overall I was happy with the breakfast. We also tried out spa which has a nice outdoor area. The spa itself isn't anything fancy but if you have kinds it's fine if you don't want to go to the beach. Treatments were excellent but remember to book in advance!

Location is a bit far from the beach and from the city centre. We soon discovered it's not worth walking to downtown since taxis were very cheap.

The hotel was packed with Finns. That's the only language you'll hear. For a next time I'd look for a bit more central location.

Service level differed depending on the person. We got excellent service at times whereas other occasions not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Decent but overpriced hotel. We spent two nights with two adults and a small children. Small Spa and even smaller gym. Small but OK renovated room on the ground floor. Bath was 20 years old and we had some problems with the drain. We spent two nights and the cleaning was not very thorough and had to ask for missing towels after cleaning. Location was quite near the beach but quite far from the centre. This was OK for us because were with our own car and there was good parking facilities in front of the hotel. However, next time will choose a smaller hotel located in the centre.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a family-room with non functional ac-unit and lavatory floor-heating fixed to 11, i.e. swetty linens that is. I complained to reception where they offered us gratis minigolf tickets and werent able to do anything else. Food we had to wait prox. 1 hour, and it simply suck'd. Kids leftover fries eventually fed my belly. I would definitely not bother to consider this place for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Spa & Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Spa & Conference Hotel

Address: Tammsaare 35, Parnu 80010, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Parnu County > Parnu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Parnu
#9 Spa Hotel in Parnu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strand Spa & Conference Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strand Spa & Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Parnu
Strand Spa And Conference Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Spa & Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.