We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ammende

Save Saved
You added Villa Ammende to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Ammende
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mere pst 7, Parnu 80010, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 hotels in Parnu
grantham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Spectacular experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is possibly the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in.It was like staying in a museum!The attention to detail in the furnishings was exquisite,so much fine art nouvaeu detail everywhere,not to mention the amazing stuffed animals dotted around the place.
Breakfast was a delight,lots of choice of hot and cold dishes and lovingly served by a white gloved waitress ,who would remove the silver domed lid in unison and present your breakfast!Superb!The location is excellent,a short stroll from the beautiful beach of Parnu and about 15 minutes from the town.
This hotel is amazing and we would not hesitate to stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was staying here with a group of friends. Shared a room with one of them, but we had a very narrow double bed. So I ended up sleeping on a travel bed. So I would recommend this hotel more for couples. There is charm. The best hall, stairs and common rooms I've ever seen. Like a museum. We walked around the hotel and looked at all the details. Also possible to go up the stairs into a tower. Perfect and polite service. Good breakfast. Very good dinner, nicely presented food, tastes good. Not so central location, but easy to walk to the beach. The room was in shabby chic style I guess, but some details were too old. Like a small window, which fell out when I tried to open it. And some shelves which were impossible to open/close. Very clean and modern bathroom. Aircondition, which was nice on a hot day. It seemed a bit too expensive during high season, but staying in the middle of May was actually very cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estacada, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Villa Ammende is an interesting hotel. The breakfast is wonderful and even includes a hot menu choice and champagne. The room was quite attractive, clean and comfortable. The area around the hotel is attractive. We were at the hotel for 2 nights and the first night was noisy until 11:00 with a group having dinner and unfortunately the noise carries up to the rooms. The second night was very quiet. The exterior of the Villa is not very attractive and appears to have had an addition that does not fit the style. This hotel just doesn't seem to be worth the high cost of sleeping here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

PRIOR to journeying to ESTONIA I had never heard of PARNU. as soon as i arrived after being led there by the locals I met in TALLIN and as soon as I smelled the BALTIC SEA blessed rose hips and sea air on a hot early summery day , I knew I had to stay over even though i was already paying for a 14th century jewel hotel in TALLIN. The temporary sign outside the AMMENDE VILLA said there were no rooms as a result of a special wedding I decided to venture to the front door and ask about its history . other hotels i had been led to were full on a summery SATURDAY so I was in limbo. with my special providential travel karma , a manager came out of the woodwork and said there was a room possible in the GARDENER`S house , which was just perfect for a single bohemian poet . little did I realize that the AMMENDE VILLA was magically located in a fragrant beach park which i took a luscious & wondrous midnite silent bike ride with aromatherapy filling the air exuding sea essences. breakfast the following morning felt like being on the TITANIC in 1912 without the ensuing disaster. high ceilinged salon breakfast room with champagne on the table and an immaculate sumptuous spread , fit for a king . plush velvet chairs to sit in . SUNDAY morning breakfast heaven!!! AMMENDE VILLA is the most famous property in ESTONIA`S SUMMER CAPITOL . THE art nouveau building built in 1905 by ST.PETERBURG architects for a rich ESTONIAN`S daughter`s wedding party and summer residence . . the interior of the villa is a masterpiece with its salons, dining rooms & luxury suites ... The AMMENDE VILLA became an unplanned royal 24 hour base camp and a flawless travel memory.

Room Tip: i was quite satisfied with a room in the GARDENER`S house which would be perfect for a single travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Oh dear, I seem to be somewhat alone in my rating!

Villa Ammende IS a beautiful old art nouveau building and has been sympathetically restored
The staff ARE very helpful
The breakfast is great ... A good typically Estonian buffet plus hot food to order and a fantastic touch.... Bubbles and a little dessert for breakfast!
The service and food in the restaurant is impeccable
It is an easy walk to both beach and town centre

But I felt disappointed. Our room was small and being in the attic had low raked ceilings making the usable space even smaller. And whilst sympathetically decorated it was not at all what I would term "luxurious". The bathroom was adequate. I had decided to go with this hotel because of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and the comments in Lonely Planet but really did feel it wasn't what I'd have chosen to spend almost 200 Euros a night on had I had an accurate picture. If you want authenticity and undeniably good service and food - YES. But if you are thinking plush luxury, no.

I do feel a little bad about writing such a review because as you can see above this hotel does get so much right.... It was just that I mistakenly expected plush luxury and I found myself instead in a grand old home that feels like the furnishings are the originals... Grand many years ago. Just not my style... Please be assured you will be very happy if it is yours, but if you are expecting over the top luxury in a more extravagant way you may also be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Arriving at Ammende Villa I felt under dressed. Somehow I got the feeling that I should have been wearing an tightly-knotted Astrakhan coat over a silk lapelled tuxedo accompanied by a lady sporting a below-the-knee Jeanne Lanvin, her delicate pearl-skinned hand nestling on my arm.

But that's the classic beauty of this lavishly restored Art Noveau hotel and restaurant. A time capsule of style and sophistication located on the edge of the Baltic Sea in the Estonian town of Parnu (or Summertown as it's also widely known).

From the moment you enter the Villa's period doors it's like stepping back in time to a more genteel age, when design and style was simply for the sake of design and style. When decor was for pleasure and when opulence was for show.

Design, style and history are all in abundance at Ammende Villa, but so also are service, comfort, courtesy, sophistication and cuisine of worldwide standards. At reception on arrival along with the impeccable registration process an impromptu history lesson and mini tour were also thrown in adding to the feeling of a leisurely pace of life and a profound attention to detail.

The rooms and suites (of which I was also given a tour by the wonderful Manger Ms. Saks) were a delight of style and elegance. Despite the looks of a museum the feeling was one of warmth and comfort.

The rooms feature all you would expect from a luxury hotel, Giant TV (a little out of place it must be said), superb shower/toilet complete with jacuzzi bath, full-laden mini bar (Check the prices before you wade in), and beds of such comfort it's difficult to drag yourself out to venture towards the breakfast room.

Breakfast comes with a choice from a menu accompanied by a tiered tray of delicious delights; Baltic Herring, smoked salmon, fresh fruits, cheeses, cold cuts, yoghurts, pastries, and salads served on bone china table ware.

Dinner in the Ammende Villa's restaurant is another highlight of any stay. Chef Marko Lumera provides local ingredients in a very classical French styling; asparagus soup (which tasted like a light and delicious froth), foie-gras and local berry jams, herb-crusted rack of lamb and all presented with acute attention to the same style and attention befitting such and elegant premises.

Overalll, the Ammende Villa is a luxury getaway, a lover's retreat, a honeymoon haven, a bolt-hole from the city, a holiday to be remembered just as the building was designed to be over 100years ago. Do not miss this gem of hospitality and treasure.

Room Tip: Every room/suite is individual, and every one is equally and authentically wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here in February in the winter in the snow. I chose it because it looked "eccentric" - somewhat like me. It lived up to my expectations. The building is fascinating and the decor is rustic. The service is impeccable - both at reception and in the restaurant. The food was exquisite, served by a very polite waiter wearing white gloves. They helped to me learn around 10 words of Estonian, which will stand me in good stead for the rest of my trip. The walk along the beach this morning in the snow was delightful. I'm sure that, when I think of this place going forward, I will do so with a smile on my face.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ammende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ammende

Address: Mere pst 7, Parnu 80010, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Parnu County > Parnu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 hotels in Parnu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ammende 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Ammende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammende Hotel Parnu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ammende, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.