We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rannahotell Parnu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rannahotell Parnu to your Saves list
Rannahotell Parnu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranna Pst 5, Parnu 80012, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Parnu
Mechelen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Watching the sea is always beautiful. To be able to do so from your balcony is quite special. We always enjoy Scandic hotels, this was no different. Great room with balcony, loved it. Beautiful building that seems to need some attention on the outside to keep it fabulous. Probably not my first choice if I was sitting in a wheel chair. We thought the breakfast area was a little 'boring' and also the breakfast itself was a little simpler than we are used to at Scandic. Friendly personel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redhill
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Had a good sized room overlooking the sea. All seemed clean and tidy, and a well established hotel. Complimentary tea coffee etc and a kettle would have been nice. If anything, a little basic, but nevertheless we enjoyed our stay, and you dont always enjoy a swish newly built hotel any better. Here we had a friendly reception, and we could open the windows properly (to the sea), not something you can always do in some very modern hotels. The breakfast was absolutely fine too, although a more vegetarian friendly choice of food would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview rooms at the end of the building - slightly larger than some others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This hotel is very child friendly, as we have 3, and very reasonable. Excellent location to the beach. However there is not much to do in the town itself that we found ESP if it's raining.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel has great location just next to the beach that is great in summer. The hotel is from out a wonderful piece of Modernism from the 1930s. Full renovation in the mid-1990s, but with rather average quality inside. Now needing some renovation also inside. A challenge is always some stairs to walk and carry luggage / push car. This is a Scandic hotel, so mainstrem Scandinavian service inside adn a lot of Scandivavian guests. The rooms are rather small that makes them tight if traveling with family. Breakfast buffet ok, no frills as well as the food in the restaurant. Free parking outside as well as wireless. The near-by Cafe Papli serves excellent food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Please note that during the summer there is a very loud night club right by the hotel. As noted in other reviews, the music is extremely loud and at least during our stay lasted until 7 a.m. There's no AC,so you can't really sleep windows closed. And the music is very disturbing even with windows closed. It is very absurd that the Pärnu town advertises that there is a night time peace starting from midnight, and then allow this to take place several times a week.

The hotel would otherwise be ok, even though I have to admit that that they should take better care of the building. To me, the hotel seemed very worn-out and therefore was not worth the price we paid: 120 euros for standard room with damaged floors, cracs in the mirror and weird smell in the bathroom, worn-out and slightly dirty mattress cover etc. The bath towels were a size of a small stamp and more like hand towels. The rooms could have been cleaned better. There was dust and a dead bee in our room when we arrived, and on our second day, they didn't even make our beds or clean the sink even though we had asked the room to be cleaned. These are quite small issues that could be easily fixed, but it seems to me that the management couldn't care less. A real shame, as I loved the location and the functionalist architecture.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed in the Rannahotel in late August after the high season was over. The hotel was half-empty and we were given a room which I suppose was one of the best ones. The staff was very friendly.

The hotel itself is a fantastic, absolutely beautiful Functionalist building. It is situated right next to the beach and the Pärnu city center is within 15 minutes walk. The problem with the place is that it is very worn and it really shows. The 1990s furniture is the worst! There was a pool table on one floor, but no cues or balls.. There was a nice sitting area on one landing, but the lamps were not working. Who would sit on arm chairs in darkness? Why not bring the interior decorations up to par with everything else?

The room we were given was really good, almost luxurious and it was obviously renovated recently. The the furniture and lightning were nice and the bathroom was clad in real stone. We had a small balcony too. The only disappointment was a stained bed cover.

Parking was free and the parking area seemed safe. The breakfast was good.

The reason we booked the Rannahotel was that we wanted to see and experience the historic building. I would recommend the place for someone who is interested in its architecture.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

From the outside, this is a lovely hotel. The building is attractive - from the 30s - and the location right on the beach is perfect if you're planning on spending some time by the sea. The weather was pretty awful while we were there, which is of course not the hotel's fault, but it gave us plenty of time to realise that if you can't use the beach, the hotel itself is pretty disappointing. The receptionist [male] wasn't particularly friendly. The room was small but the bathroom was absolutely tiny - so much so that when you have a shower, the entire floor gets wet. [Helpfully, they leave a swooshie thing for you to mop up after yourself!] The hotel brochure in the room boasts that it was renovated in 1994 and I think it might be about time to go over it again. The mattress protector was covered in stains and the walls were very scuffed. The upholstery in the public sitting areas was torn. Breakfast was ok but if felt like eating in a canteen. I'd recommend Parnu, but not this hotel. Unless the weather is fantastic and you can be out all the time....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rannahotell Parnu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rannahotell Parnu

Address: Ranna Pst 5, Parnu 80012, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Parnu County > Parnu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Parnu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rannahotell Parnu 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rannahotell enjoys a great location on a sandy beach, only a 15-minute walk from the centre of Parnu. The hotel is a true gem of functional style, and is considered to be one of the most beautiful hotel buildings in Estonia. Relax in the spacious, modern restaurant, with daylight flooding in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, while enjoying the delicious local and international dishes of the 1930s cuisine. At the bar you can drink a glass of wine and admire the superb views of the sea. Parnu' business and entertainment areas are both just a few minutes' walk away from Rannahotell. Rannahotell is open all year round, providing accomodation and relaxing, family and golf packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rannahotell Parnu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rannahotell Hotel Parnu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rannahotell Parnu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.