We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sue's Indian Raja

Sue's Indian Raja
Odminiu str. 3, Vilnius, Lithuania
+37052661888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 383 Restaurants in Vilnius
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good food and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Never can resist Indian food and was well pleased with our meal. We sat outside and had a great view over the cathedral square. Service was quick, we ordered a Madras and Jalfrezi and were told that they very spicy and were we sure, the waiter was right and we weren't disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    65
    28
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Sue's a number of times. The food and service is excellent.
However, the drinks selection is limited- don't expect fancy cocktails or aperitives.
The menu is comprehensive, and ranges from mildly spicy to fiery burn. The Jalfrezi and Vindaloo is not for beginners!
Portions are adequate, but rice and all side dishes must be ordered separately; thus making the grand total slightly pricey compared to other local restaurants.
None the less, Sue's gets thumbs up!
Twice has the owner himself, a very polite and correct Indian gentleman, personally come to the table to ensure all is well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch&dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Delicious food! The service was very fast, the waitress was helpful and could give good advice. Nicely furnished restaurant, very clean and neat and it is quite easy to find a free table at lunch. The restaurant is in the center, but the street is very quiet, so it is very comfortable to eat there. The prices are very much acceptable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Only average, but with a handy location. Biryani to be avoided.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ordered the chicken biryani. Didn't wow me. Flavorsome, but not biryani-enough. It was like they cooked the chicken in a spice-up tomato sauce with cardamom and then tossed in the rice.

Ordered the mulligatawny soup, and it was far from what it should be. Too much rice, too much lentils, not enough pepper...aaargh. How could they get this wrong?

Ordered the vegetable jalfrezi, and that was good.

Ordered the mango lassi and it was OK. Was expecting fresh mangoes given the stature of the restaurant, but they used canned mango juice instead.

I ate half of my dinner, and went else where for a late supper.

I have Indian heritage and come from a family of good cooks, and I frequent Indian restaurants wherever I go. Sue's Indian Raja isn't a bad choice, but I think it is over-rated compared to the many other Indian restaurants I've been to in Asia, Europe and Australasia.

If you're done with the heavy Lithuanian food and in need for a change, this is an OK alternative if other types of cuisine does not appeal to you.

Prices are steep by Lithuanian standards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Indian delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not too sure why, but we why really surprised to find an Indian restaurant in Eastern Europe, so had to give it a try, especially as it is located on the edge of a pleasant looking square.
The Maitre d' gave us a very warm welcome, we even forgave him for being a Manchester United fan, and the rest of the staff were very pleasant too, though as we found throughout Lithuania, service was a little on the slow side.
Food was wonderful. I had the Pork Madras mainly because of the novelty of seeing pork on the menu. In Indian restaurants in the UK most 'Indian' restaurants are actually owned by muslim Bangladeshi's. The Madras was spicier than many of the Vindaloos I have had before, but the flavour of the meat was still very discernable. Everyone else in our party also enjoyed their meals and we left feeling very satisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sue's Indian Raja also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Sue's Indian Raja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sue's Indian Raja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.