We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room in budget hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vilnius Europolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vilnius Europolis to your Saves list
Hotel Vilnius Europolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Svitrigailos 11 D, Vilnius 03228, Lithuania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vilnius
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average room in budget hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Despite not staying in Vilnius before, we have experienced a number of locations throughout the Baltics. I would say that this hotel was one of the poorer options we have experienced for our money. (£160 for 5 nights double room ensuite with breakfast)

our corner room was functional,( double bed, with 2 x single sheets and duvets, bedside table, wardrobe. TV with 3 working channels). Small bathroom with shower. decor was outdated and quite depressing.
Bed was very comfortable, heating was good and we had hot water whenever we needed.
Walls are paper-thin, conversations could be heard clearly from next room, and also whilst in corridor. Ear-plugs are benificial.
We had requested a room with bath, which was confirmed by the hotel. On arrival, they could not provide this, and did not for remainder of stay despite 2 promises that one would be available ' the next day'.
Rooms were poorly serviced, with windowsills / skirtings / corners of floor noticably dusty throughout stay. clean towels provided every day, but bed sheet changed only on final (5th) night.
Breakfast was fairly standard ( friend eggs, pancakes, sausages, 2x cold meat, cheese, salads, juices, bread, cereal). breakfast staff seemed uninterested during week, and single staff member on weekend seemed rushed.

Reception staff were generally helpful, polite and all spoke excellent English.

WiFi worked throughout stay in room.

standard rooms seem to vary greatly in size and style.

Worth noting hotel has no bar / restaurant faciity, though soft drinks/ juices available from fridge in reception.

Location isn't the best, 15-20 mins downhill to Old Town. similar distance to Bus station / train station, but the whole area is quite industrial, badly lit and fairly run down. Might be better in summer, but we felt not the best place to be wandering after dark in winter.
Very few bars / restaurants in the area what we could find, so spent most of time in Old Town.

in future would pay a little more and stay in Old Town

Room Tip: Pay extra and choose a superior/ deluxe room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
14
47
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a negative experience at this hotel. Our first night was spent in a room that had a communicating door with another room. This meant that we could hear everything that the people next door were doing, we felt like we had no privacy at all. The first night I phoned reception to tell them that wifi wasn't working in the room, the receptionist replied saying that she was going to fix the problem. The problem wasn't fixed nor did the receptionist check with us if everything was ok. The rooms are very basic and old fashioned and so are the amenities in the room. You are only entitled to one bath towel per person, meaning no hand towels to dry your hands. After not being able to sleep the first night we asked to move rooms. The second room we stayed in was a bit better and had good wi-fi signal. What I really disliked about both rooms was the way the beds were made. Double beds are made with two single bed sheets and not very well made, very uncomfortable. The only positive thing to mention were the crepes with ham and cheese and curd they have at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donatas A, Owner at Hotel Vilnius Europolis, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all thank You for a feedback. We are striving to improve. Last week we removed the doors from communicating rooms and shielded with a sound-proof wall. From now on the problem with the sound in those rooms should disappear. Looking forward to see You here next time.

With best wishes,
Donatas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

When I have arrived to the hotel on taxi late at night, I was really disappointed by the exterior look of the hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised to learn that my fears had no root. It was a really nice place, the staff were friendly, speaking both Russian and English, the breakfast was amazing, with a lot of choice available. The room was spacious, with three single beds, and clean. There were little bits that could have made the stay that little bit better - like not a grand view of the building opposite, and the fact that there was a step to get into the toilet/shower, which I had to constantly remind myself of, especially if I woke up during the night and was too lazy to switch the lights on. Yes, the old town and the train/bus stations aren't exactly close, but 15-20 minutes' walk to get to either is, actually, pretty good, and I loved how the hotel was pretty much the middle point between them. Yes, it's not a perfect hotel but hey, it's a 3* one and I'd definitely want to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donatas A, Owner at Hotel Vilnius Europolis, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest, thank You for expressing Your feedback.

We are renovating our exterior little by little, so in the nearest future it should look the same level as our hotel is. Meanwhile, customers should notice HOTEL signs from the street side, and parking on the back side of the building. We have no "sea or city" view because of buildings surrounding us. Meanwhile, we are planning to remove the step to Standart room types of WC/shower for the next season. All technical solutions were done in this year's complete hotel renovation.

As we notice now, our guestes simply love our convenient "Old Town - Bus/Train Station - Airport/IKEA" location, and we are glad about it. This gives an advantage for travellers without cars, as public transportation costs max 1 Euro, and those places are just 2 to 6 stops from us.

Looking forward to see You at us next time!
Make sure nex time You book brand new Superior class rooms. They are bigger, furnished with city-design unique TOP 20 Vilnius attraction 9 sq. metre wallpapers.

With best wishes,
Donatas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We only stayed for one night in this hotel, but it was a good one. It's not exactly in the city center, we walked for 15-20mins, so it's not that far from it either. Quite good and rich, I would say, breakfast, with a lot more options than in some other 3 stars hotel I've been staying in. We had eggs, sausages, simple pancakes, cheese filled pancakes and the usual butter, jam, coffee/juice, milk/cereal and the like.

The lady at the front desk spoke English and since we've arrived earlier than check-in time we were allowed to leave the bags there and explore the city in the meantime. The room was clean, beds comfortable, clean bathroom. It's very close to the train station and also the bus station, in case you're traveling through the Baltics by bus like us. Nothing fancy-shmancy, but ok overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donatas A, Owner at Hotel Vilnius Europolis, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank You for a feedback. We are constantly striving to improve with Hot Buffet breakfast this year as we are new with it. And as we see now, our big food variey is noticed, and we are glad about it. P.S. We look forward to see You again next time visiting Vilnius!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed there with 20 teenagers during their end of the secondary school trip. Hotel was fantastic even though my pupils caused havoc there.
Rooms were clean and nice. Every room there was a small fridge, spacious shower. The temperature was maybe a little too warm inside.
Breakfast was plentyful with usual options of omelette, porridge, sausages, pancakes, fresh fruit and vegetables, good coffee and nice juices.
This hotel is walking distance from the city centre and a big supermarket is very close too.

I am truly sorry for all the trouble my pupils caused

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donatas A, Owner at Hotel Vilnius Europolis, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank You for writing us. Indeed, Your students have been staying in Superior class rooms as a bonus for visiting our hotel for the first time. We have fixed the scratches within few hours. Luckily, no bigger damages. With best wishes from Vilnius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

For one of the cheapest prices ever we had a big, clean and comfortable room for two of us, nice shower and amazing breakfast.
As for an usual B&B experience this hotel shifted our expectations a lot.
Maybe the location is just a little bit out of the main tourist spots, but that didn't bother us at all.

Room Tip: We stood at the street-facing room which appeared to be a little bit annoying during night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice hotel, worth what you pay for. We had business + friends trip to Vilnius. Good location, close to city center, you can walk on foot. Rooms have fridges. Rooms quite spacy. We ordered with breakfast. It was standart 3 star hotel self-service breakfast. Not a huge variaty of food, but food was good. We recommend it .

Room Tip: better choose a room with a window to a back yeard, should be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vilnius Europolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilnius Europolis

Address: Svitrigailos 11 D, Vilnius 03228, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vilnius Europolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2013, Hotel Vilnius Europolis offers 45 Standard and Superior class rooms with free fiber-optic Wi-Fi, parking, Buffet breakfast, and a distance of just 15 minutes walk to historical Vilnius Old Town. Our "take-a-walk" location speak for itself. Popular places of interest around us:>> Vilnius Old Town - 15 mins. walk>> Vilnius Town Hall - 20 mins. walk>> Bus & Railway Station - 20 mins. walk>> Cathedral Square - 30 mins. walk>> 24/7 Maxima shopping - 5 mins. walk>> Hyper RIMI shopping - 7 mins. walk>> Forum Cinemas Movies - 10 mins. walk>> Vilnius International Airport VNO - 4.7 km>> Kaunas International Airport KUN - 83 km>> Shopping Center AKROPOLIS - 4.5 km>> Exhibition Center "LITEXPO" - 2.6 km>> SIEMENS Arena Vilnius - 5.7 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vilnius Europolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vilnius Europolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.