We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sneakpeak in hell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holocaust Museum (The Green House)

Holocaust Museum (The Green House)
Pamenkalnio 12, Vilnius, Lithuania
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 95 Attractions in Vilnius
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sneakpeak in hell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Though not at the main street, somehow hidden from the eye at first site, the little small green house hides pictures, testimonials and proofs of the hell lived by too many people.impressive!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Although I am VERY cognizant of the holocaust since my family is from Poland and lived through the slaughter, I am continuously disappointed no matter where I travel and visit these holocaust museums, that somehow the FACT that millions of Catholics and other religious groups were slaughtered during the holocaust is forgotten. This place was no different. Hardly any mention is made of the millions of Catholics that died in Poland. WHY? The holocaust was NOT just a Jewish problem. In addition, Judaism is a beautiful and old religion with a magnificent history, however being a Jew is not a "nationality" - it is a religion. Most of the Jews, Catholics and other religious denominations that were slaughtered during WW2 were Polish. We really should acknowledge that millions of Polish People were slaughtered during WW2, not just Jews. I keep hoping and I keep getting disappointed that someday someone will remember ALL of the PEOPLE that died during WW2 and make a true holocaust museum, not just museums that discuss people who were of the Jewish Faith. The museum however did have beautiful displays but I rated it as poor as the whole story of the holocaust is not given. My mother who was NOT a Jew spent 5 years in a slave labour camp and my uncle spent, also not a Jew, spent nearly 6 years in Auschwitz, so I still feel hurt when all of the other Poles who suffered are ignored. I know I am jaded but I keep hoping for a "total story" being told some day. Maybe in the 22nd Century? I don't know.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop Notts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very Interseting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had extreme difficulty in finding this museum as everyone i asked gave me directions to the KGB Museum. The way to find it is to visit the KGB Museum first and after leaving there turn left at the traffic lights cross over to the right side of the road go over the lights and then at the very next turning turn left up a small road you will see a sign on the wall saying Holocasut Museum and it is housed in a green building. Reading all the displays it makes one feel very sad at how the Jewish people were treated but then again it is good also to know about their treatment. Very sad. I had visited this one and the KGB Museum both in the same day so I had a lot to reflect on. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin/Bangkok
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very fine little museum in an old wooden house, on the Jews of Vilnius (who made up 40 percent of the population in 1914), the influential Jewish community (Vilnius was a centre of religious and secular Judaism, called the Jerusalem of North Europe), and what became of it under the Nazi occupation. Very sad but true, the museum pulls no punches on the heavy involvement of Lithuanian Nazi sympathizers in the atrocities and exterminations, and also highlights Jewish partisans who fought against the Nazis. The museum, at Pamėnkalnio 12, is a little hard to find up a steep lane from a main street, but it's well worth the effort.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Scary movie”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very negative impression, poor exposition and waste of time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Museum (The Green House) also viewed

 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Holocaust Museum (The Green House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holocaust Museum (The Green House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.