We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Europa City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Europa City Hotel to your Saves list
Europa City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Jasinskio Street, Vilnius 2001, Lithuania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Vilnius
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Not bad, not good ... difficult to describe. Rooms are OK, bed could have been a little bit more comfortable. The bathroom is a 2-3 star standard - white tiles, only big soap dispenser, basic amenities. WIFI in the lobby for free, but had to pay 4 EUR to get a password to be used in the room - however, when I got to my room on 2nd floor I found out that I can catch the free WIFI from the lobby as well. The breakfast selection was very basic. The ladies at the reception were very nice, but had not a lot to offer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
15
36
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a large, modern if somewhat gloomy hotel more than a mile away from the Old Town. It is easily accessible from the station (Trolleybus 1 or 7), and the airport bus (nr. 2) passes a few blocks away. The room was adequate, but close to a busy highway. Breakfast was disappointing. Overall this hotel is quite good value (we paid £300 per person for 4 nights including return flights from London). However, the constant arrival and departure of coach tours and the messy surroundings do not make for an uplifting experience. There is a useful supermarket nearby and also a KFC outlet, otherwise it’s a bit grim. If you don’t mind walking you are only about four blocks from the Parliament and National Library. The KGB museum is not far and once you get onto Gediminas Street the walk into town is not unpleasant. As in many Lithuanian hotels, the restaurant tends to close its doors to residents when pre-booked tour groups arrive. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby only.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We were a group of about ten people who booked this hotel because it had conference rooms and a tolerable price.

Friendly staff at reception.

The rooms were nice and the bathrooms looked newly renovated right out and had a bath.

However, it was very responsive. Over the weekend there were many bus loads of tourists. There was noise in the evenings, nights and early mornings and televisions that could be heard through the walls.

The breakfast room was small and there was a queue to tables at the weekend. It took a long time for staff to refill the food and on Monday there was no of all sorts to fill in at all.

A walk to old town took about 20-25 minutes, you should be out in town during the day, then go to the hotel to rest and then go back for dinner, you get plenty of exercise!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at Europa City hotel as it was the official hotel for a festival we were going to and wanted to be near everyone else in the festival and all our friends. Three of us decided to share a room and so booked a business class room. Upon arrival check-in was pretty smooth, however when we got up to the room we found only a double bed. Seeing that the receptionist knew that there were three of us staying in a room, this shouldn't have been the case so we went back downstairs to complain and ask about the third bed. We got told seeing that we'd booked a business class room, an extra bed would be taken to the room and that we couldn't switch hotel rooms as they'd overbooked. The extra bed turned out to be one of those camping esque beds meant for small children and not a 20 year old woman. I spent every night feeling the springs against my ribcage on this bed. There was barely enough room for the extra bed in this room and it got very cramped and on top of that they forget to give me a pillow for the bed, which I had to go down to reception to complain about and only then did they tell us that we could dial reception from the hotel room. There was also two of everything in the room, including towels and cups, although when the maids came the next day they did give us some extra towels.

Sleeping at first was hard as we had to have the aircon system on due to the summer heat of Lithuania. The aircon would make a ridiculously loud noise every couple of minutes that sounded like it was either on its way to breaking or needed to be cleaned. Eventually we got used to it though. The next day we headed down to the breakfast buffet which was included in the price. This was a very interesting affair, with boiled sausages, mashed potato, pasta, some days boiled veg, a suspicious looking porridge thing, salty cornflakes, watered down juice, tea that wouldn't brew and cake. Asides from the cake which was fabulous, it was all a bit disjointing and not very breakfasty and filling and very cheaply produced.

The restaurant also wasn't that good. The service was slow, food came out at different times on many occasions and there wasn't many decent vegetarian dishes for my friends. The quality was ok but not great and the price was a bit overpriced. We opted to eat in town on many occasions.

On the plus side I think the hotel was in a fairly good location. It was close to two supermarkets and the main street in Vilnius, but wasn't in the old town. If you also have friends staying in the hotel you can ring their rooms by dialing their room number into the phones in your room which was pretty nifty. Because we were at the festival the whole week we stayed there we were barely in the hotel apart from sleeping, I think if we weren't at the festival it would have made the trip a lot more less enjoyable having to be in the hotel for large amounts of time.

Checking out was also a nightmare. It turns out the hotel had been very sneaky and left a small chocolate on the side in the bathroom which we thought one of our friends had left us and so ate. This was included in the minibar, even though there was no price on the chocolate and no indication it was from the minibar. We had to pay 3 ltl for it.

The overall experience of Europa City Hotel was as if they were trying to cut the costs for themselves in as many ways as possible and try to get as much money out of us as possible, which isn't a nice experience. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Business hotel not far, the end of Gedemino street close to a big highway. Rooms are quiet and well appointed.. Friendlyand helpful staff. The buffet breakfast was good, with all sorts of everything, but come a 9 00 pm because bus with turists groups in Hôtel.The hotel environment is urban not turism, but the hotel is a good value andgood choice. I advise for restaurants cili restaurants (3 in downtown) cheap and all good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

What a disaster. I was with a friend in Vilnius to celebrate the New Year (which was fantastic). After spending two nights in Riga, we came down to Vilnius for three more.

We arrived at the hotel at around 10pm. Nice staff, speedy check-in. I was bloody freezing so was desperate for a shower. The water was barely even lukewarm when set to maximum temperature.

Great.

After having an almost-cold shower we went down to the restaurant in the hotel for a dinner. We arrived too close to closing time to get everything we asked for (which was a lot) but that was not a problem at all. In the end we ordered a salmon salad, a herring salad, two soups, a selection of cheeses and a bottle of Chardonnay.

The herring was nice; the salmon salad was disgusting. The salmon was virtually tasteless and quite unpleasant. You could tell it was of a crap quality and pulled straight out of a packet. I ate one piece. My friend tried a bit and spat it into a tissue.

The bottle of Chardonnay was fine, though the waitress did not open the bottle in front of us. Cardinal sin. She should have also asked us to taste the wine to see if it was corked or not. Moving on..

The cheeses - worst seleciton of cheese on a plate I've ever seen in my life. there were four different types of cheese. I saw at least 7 slices of one type. It almost looked like the kind of cheese you get in little peel-packets to put in cheap burgers. Maybe it was.

My friend had a fish soup which he thought had sand in it. This tasted fine to me, though. My soup was quite poor; it looked and tasted like it began life as a cheap powder sachet and had boiling water added to it.

After that atrocity of a meal we went to bed, and returned in the morning for breakfast. Things could only get better, surely?

WRONG!

The breakfast was abysmal as well. Mass produced tripe. The fried egg was horrible, as were the shrivelled up little sausages. The diluted apple/orange juices were also gross. We didn't bother going to breakfast there again, even though it was included in price of our room. Also, in the three nights we were there, not once did we see the lights turned on for the stairs leading to the restaurant. Not once!

At least the showers were piping hot in the morning.

Our bedroom was small. I don't normally consider room size an issue worth mentioning as you shouldn't spend much time awake in your room, but our room was of a size where you couldn't walk around without having to sidestep your luggage.

There are no irons in the room; less than two minutes after calling reception to request one was one at my door for me. The staff are good like that here. The management might want to get new covers for the ironing boards though. Stains and holes all over the shop.

When it was time to check out, we went down stairs and did the usual stuff. The girl at the desk asked us if we had anything from the minibar, to which we replied no. We waited in reception as they called us a taxi. The girl told us that the maid who checked the room reported that we had had a large bottle of water from the minibar. We explained that we had bought drinks from Maxima (Tesco equivalent), including two large bottles of water that we had left in the room on the desk (a large bottle of water would not fit in the fridge anyway). The girl then said the maid told her a bottle of whisky was missing... we again told her we had brought our own refreshments and did not consume anything from the minibar. She said ok and we again sat down to wait for our taxi.

Then the porter approaches us and asks if we can accompany him to the room to see what is supposed to be missing. We agree and walk to the lift; I glance at the receptionist and she is looking at me with her best 'you are guilty' face. To be frank I thought the entire thing was completely ridiculous - all the alcohol bottles in the minibar are tiny; the cost would have been peanuts. How they can seriously think we were trying to steal such things is beyond me.

Anyway we go back to our room with the porter and he sees our two large bottles of water. He says there is a large bottle of Evian on every table in the hotel and we tell him there was no bottle of evian in our room. He can see we bought our own drinks (the bottles were only half empty to boot) so he informs an old woman who speaks no English and I only assume is in charge of stocking fridges and whatnot. She comes in our room and starts mumbling to him.

My friend asks if the bottle of evian normally comes on a tray and the porter says yes. My friend points out that there is no such tray in our room so they must have forgotten to put the water in, unless they think we stole their tray. He talks to the old woman who is clearly [--] about us. She walks off to the lift area and the porter (who was quite nice about it all) basically says nevermind and sorry for the hold up. We walk to the lift and get in with the old woman. Then she gets out before the door closes. Strange...

the location is on a motorway. You don't hear traffic or anything from your rooms and they are air conditioned. The location is away from everything and the main street with the shopping malls is about a 15 minute walk.

Verdict: Pay a bit more for a hotel closer to old town. The hotel has no atmosphere and the food is horrifying.

This is the first time I've rated a hotel 1/5. It was hovering around 2/3 but the minibar/watergate scandal took the biscuit.

  • Liked — Nice staff (for the most part)
  • Disliked — Showers are cold at night / food is abhorrent
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

This is an excellent modern hotel. Good facilities and clean rooms.
The staff were friendly and helpful, they gave us a map and directions to the old town and main shops. (About 15 mins walk)
The interior of the hotel was decorated in neutural colours, with lots of art in the hallways.
Good breakfast with plenty of choice, cooked, cerial, toast and bread, fruit. Tea coffee and friut juice.
Overall a great choice, and it was the cheapest on [--]

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa City Hotel

Address: 14 Jasinskio Street, Vilnius 2001, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Europa City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Europa City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa City Vilnius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.