We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old town Boutique Hotel with a spirit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shakespeare Hotel to your Saves list
Shakespeare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Bernardinu g.8/8,Vilnius,01124, Vilnius 01124, Lithuania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Vilnius
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old town Boutique Hotel with a spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel everything you would need for a romantic stylish and relaxing getaway..
We had a beautiful spacious room with a jacuzzi and a view to the amazing ONOS church..
And tucked away from the noisy streets of the old town.. Simply Perfect !
Breakfast menu was delicious.. forget the buffets... some local specialties and full english all set up in a cosy and light room..
Would definitely come back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    70
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
131
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Very good location just 2 minutes to the main Pilis street. Special thanks to reception staff, they were very friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast is 'a la carte' you can even have a steak for your breakfast!!! Restaurant staff also very helpfull. There is a very beautifull roof terrace to enjoy your evening drink.
Also they have a free parking place in their backyard. We will definately come back to Shakespeare hotel next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in the Shakespeare for 6 nights while attending a family wedding. It was in an excellent location down the cobbled back streets of the old town but not far from the main street and Cathedral Square, everything was in walking distance. It is very quiet and traffic is closed off at one end of the street. There is lots of free parking within the hotel's own grounds.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, ordering taxis etc, they all spoke good English.
Breakfast is served to order and brought to your table, no buffet, some days its was better than others but again all the waiting staff spoke good English. There is an outside terrace on the first floor where you could have coffee or drinks from the bar.
Our bedroom was a standard business room on the first floor, no lift to this part of the building but the staff were happy to help with luggage. All the rooms are book themed and ours was called 'Othello'. It had very high ceilings and double aspect windows, comfortable with everything you needed, minibar, kettle, free wifi etc.
I personally wouldn't choose some of the rooms on the ground floor as taxis do seem to pull up outside regularly on the street.
I will return to the Shakespeare if I vist Vilnius again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

A small well located hotel, with an attentive staff and good restaraunt. The only bad feature was the shower. It had a deep tub rounded bottom and very slick. There was no shower enclosure, not even partial. No grab bars to assist in getting in and out.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Conveniently located for the Old Town, with ample parking, this is a boutique hotel with amazing rooms, friendly and competent staff, and good food. It combines modern amenities with a cozy, classy decor and good restaurant. We have stayed several times and were welcomed back on each occasion, which adds a nice personal touch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Shakespeare Hotel is situated in a great location on the edge of the Old Town.
The hotel has real character, with each room being themed around a different literary figure.
We were in 'Othello'...which led me to order the 'Othello steak & eggs' for breakfast. I expected just a bit of steak and some scrambled eggs, but received one of the best pieces of steak I have ever had (and I like my steak!). Breakfast was very impressive, as was the food the hotel restaurant served in the evening (expensive for Vilnius, but not compared to restaurants in Western Europe).
Vilnius is a beautiful city with a wonderful Old Town and the people were very friendly and welcoming.
When we were there in February it was very cold (high of -10 celsius)...but there are lots of interesting coffee shops, restaurants and coffee shops to pop into everywhere, you soon warm up!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking for a hotel with a character and this one definitely has it!
The interior is amazing and every room has its own design and history behind it. We stayed in the Trollope room. The décor was nice, spacious, bed very comfy and great bathroom. The hotel is in the city’s old town, but we were not disturbed by any noise at night even with the open window.
The staff at the reception or in the restaurant was always very friendly and helpful.
The other good thing is that they have their own private car park, which is secluded and is free for the residents, which is very good considering the area the hotel is in. It might be a bit tricky if you are with bigger car to get through the gate as it is a bit on a smaller side, but maybe it was just me driving after more than half a year.
Had very tasty pancakes for breakfast and would highly recommend them. There was also beef stake with egg on the menu! Of course there are all the usual dishes. If you’re lucky with the weather then try to go into the terrace for breakfast, it would taste even better!
We had amazing time over there and will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Bernardinu g.8/8,Vilnius,01124, Vilnius 01124, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vilnius
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
#4 Family Hotel in Vilnius
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Vilnius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.