We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic - the pinnacle of learning about Lithuania's history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gediminas Tower

Gediminas Tower
Arsenalo 3a gatve, Vilnius, Lithuania
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 98 attractions in Vilnius
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Iconic - the pinnacle of learning about Lithuania's history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The iconic symbol of the old and new Lithuania. A cracking walk up from the impressive square, helps work off the calories from the tasty "Zeppelins" and pints of "Baltas".......and sharpens the appetite for more! The Tower is the reconstructed remnant of a much larger fortification that surrounded early Vilnius (check out the Iron Wolf story) Views are tremendous and the simplicity of the three floors gives a clear, crisp insight and feel for Lithuanian national identity. I found the piece on the Baltic Way human-chain strangely more emotive and moving than what I'd seen in the "KGB" Museum. A-top the Tower the fluttering Lithuanian flag flies with a well-earned pride and in more ways than one, seeing it up there is the pinnacle of the journey you make when you start to explore Lithuania's history.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    194
    55
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is surely a must see, take the incline railway (5 litus return). A lot of history and superb views of Vilnius. Was overcast and cod day but still enjoyed very much

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“For a nice view of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It's worth climbing the hill to get amazing views of Vilnius. We didn't enter the museum/tower because you can see everything from the courtyard

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

took the ride up which was beautiful once there went into the tower .interesting different armour on display i couldnt imagine putting some of these pieces on and then fighting in them they also had some torture instruments on display,it was small and u had to climb at least three flights of narrow stairs but my husband and i are in our 60s and had no problem so i would suggest seeing this we did walk down after the tour but you can also ride down but the walk down was quite nice but wear comfy shoes since most of the walk down is on cobblestones

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A great short hike to wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Even in late December , it’s worthwhile to hike up the hill to the top of the castle for the views of Vilnius and for the simple but excellent displays showing the castle’s history efforts to preserve and rebuild it. Climbing to the top of the tower costs only 5 LVL (about $1.70) and if you don’t want to walk up the big hill you can take a little funicular train to the summit. Excellent views of the city!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gediminas Tower also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Gediminas Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gediminas Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gediminas Tower to your Saves list