We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Druskos Namai

Druskos Namai
Saviciaus G. 6-19, Vilnius, Lithuania
+370 5 215 3004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 395 Restaurants in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: International, European, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Druskos Namai "Salt House" was established in 2012. Our main focus is on food quality; sourcing as much as possible while in season from local farmers and suppliers. Our menu can change on a daily basis depending on what is at the peak of freshness and availability.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have choosen this restaurant because of the reviews in TripAdvisor. We can only say good things about the restaurant: food was honest (not over the top but very well cooked), I asked for a celeriac soup and that was what I got, a very tasty soup! Service was very good and we were very surprise to know that the restaurant is only open since April!! It looks outside Vilnius town centre but it is just a 15 minutes walk from the cathedral.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    41
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and a very nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I tried squid with chorizo, duck breast and chocolate cake - all was delicious! Food, wine, liquor and coffe cost us about 200 LTL (about 60 euros for 2 persons). The staff was very freindly and proffesional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Mrs Sowie and I have just returned from a nice lunch here. The restaurant was very quiet with only one other table occupied by 2 French couples.

The waitress was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. Mrs S chose cream of celeriac soup which was thick and very moreish while i opted for the veal and sweetbread terrine. This was excellent and very tasty, served with dill pickles and toast.

For mains, my wife went for the steak, requesting it medium rare. In truth this was perhaps a little to rare for her taste, but it was very tender and well seasoned. It came served with thick hand cut chips and a wholegrain mustard. I chose the duck confit cassoulet, which was nice but unexceptional.

In addition to the above we had a glass of house white and a half litre of dark beer plus two coffees. Total cost was aprox £35, so good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a cozy restaurant, which is well worth a visit, but return regularly - no”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The cozy and tastefully furnished restaurant in Užupis. A big plus is really nice and helpful (but unobtrusive) waitress with expertise in not only her, but the chef's work. The waitress gladly explain from what and how the dish is made, help choose the matching wine to a dish which, on request, you can taste it. Well, the menu is short and precise, so you choose what you eat a lot easier. Restaurant offers a taste of unusual and innovative dishes. So I would suggest to visit it at least once and taste, for example, lombatelo steak with potato chips and mustard (soft and juicy meat melting in your mouth), veal liver with mushrooms and mash potato (just a great combination of flavors), duck breast with sautéed potato and prunes with red wine jus and other. But no matter how I would have loved to try one or the other dish, I'm not sure that there is at least one dish that would make me go back to the "Salt of the house" so that I taste it again. Ironically, all the dishes we tasted were too salty. Regarding the environment, I would mention the fact that the tables are too close together, resulting in a very well heard others conversations. Persons wishing to privacy, they will find it hard here. So, "Salt of the house" is a great, cozy place,is definitely worth a visit, but if I go back there again and again? Unfortunately, probably not.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with excellent food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Very nice restaurant with excellent food, attentive service and lovely wood panelling. Definitely recommend the cheese board with delicious Lithuanian cheeses but everything on the menu is excellent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Druskos Namai also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Druskos Namai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Druskos Namai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.