We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in the Vilnius” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Druskos Namai

Druskos Namai
Saviciaus G. 6-19, Vilnius, Lithuania
+370 5 215 3004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 419 Restaurants in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: International, European, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Druskos Namai "Salt House" was established in 2012. Our main focus is on food quality; sourcing as much as possible while in season from local farmers and suppliers. Our menu can change on a daily basis depending on what is at the peak of freshness and availability.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best food in the Vilnius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went to the Druskos Namai twice during our 4 days stay in the Vilnius. We tried other restaurants, and this one is definitely the best. The chef is Lithuanian, who worked many years in London, and owner is young British ex-pat. Everything we tried was delicious and nicely presented. Service was excellent. We definitely recommend Druskos Namai to any Vilnius visitors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    43
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sets a very high bar for the rest of one's visit to Vilnius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Followed TA members' praise and made the minor trek (>10 min if you use the river-pathway-and-staircase route from St. Anne's; 15ish if you follow the main streets from the old town center...and pause en route to take some pics and visit the massive iconostasis at the Church of the Holy Mother of God) to this small restaurant in the reputedly bohemian Užupis district. Options for both an attractive dining room as well as a small (4 tables) courtyard. Tables set with local linen and appointed simply yet elegantly. I chose the day's lunch menu; it was early afternoon and cream of cauliflower and celeriac soup was already gone so they substituted a delicious cream of roasted pepper & tomato, followed by an excellent bacon and wild mushroom risotto. Attentive service, cucumber water, and crisp baguette served with salted rapeseed oil rounded out a very satisfying dining experience, even relative to very high expectations...all for the equivalent of $8!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Brit in Vilnius - check it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Yes, it is a bit of a hike up the hill but definitely worth the trek. As it was lunchtime and a lovely warm day we decided to sit in the courtyard. The menu wasn't extensive but made up for by the ingredients being totally fresh. My friend and I both had fish (sea bass and sardines respectively) and they were both delicious. It was nice to have the rapeseed oil and bread brought out while we waited for the fish (not that we had to wait particularly long).The owner, ex-pat Gareth Sanderson, came to chat to us along with his Lithuanian wife, both of whom were obviously passionate about the business. Good luck to him and his wife - we hope they do really well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uusimaa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fresh, inspired dishes with great service and at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

After hearing several recommendations, we decided to try this restaurant. Unlike many Lithuanian restaurants, the menu is short but it changes regularly. I had the Ox tongue with fried egg to start. It was very tasty and seasoned perfectly. The rapeseed oil served with the bread was a change from olive oil. For the main course, I chose the porcini and chanterelle pappardelle. Initially I thought the portion was quite small but it was just right. The waitress was very good - quick, efficient and focused. The bill for two people with beer came to 136 litas. The only downside was it was very quiet. I hope more people visit this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth its no 1 spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Late lunch in the courtyard so a little atmosphere-less but food excellent. Draws well on British training in using fresh local ingredients to create an interesting menu

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Druskos Namai also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Druskos Namai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Druskos Namai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.