We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National food but different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Mikos

Holy Mikos
Sv. Mykolo G. 4, Vilnius 01124, Lithuania
370 688 22210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 383 Restaurants in Vilnius
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant is located in small and quiet Sv Mykolo (St. Michael) street in the old town of Vilnius. Restaurant's name Holy Mikos has been changed to Mykolo 4 to better reflect concept of the restaurant - promoter of contemporary Lithuanian cuisine. This is small and family run restaurant. When you enter the restaurant, the oldtown feel is continued with elegant decoration and antique furnishings. Our passion and desire is to continually create dishes which reference Lithuanian's culinary traditions and at the same time which are rich of inventive modern touches. We are proud of our service, which is friendly and attentive. I believe that our restaurant is a great local restaurant, located in heart of Vilnius oldtown, which just happens to serve some of the best Lithuanian food in the capital.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“National food but different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lithuanians are very conservative, when it comes to local cuisine.
So it's a rare pleasure to see someone trying to present it differently.
Go for tasting menu - it's an adventure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    19
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Wonderful dining experience at Holy Mikos in Vilnius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I went to this restaurant a few days ago (14 Aug) and it was extraordinary. The restaurant itself was a little alley off the Old Town, and so it was easy to find. My friend and I chanced upon it whilst looking for a place for dinner and we did not regret it one bit. They had a degustation menu consisting of 4 courses - my friend chose that whilst I went for a-la carte. I had a very nice starter of salmon tartare with sesame and green apple. It was as unusual as it sounded but the tastes came together in a melodious flow. For the main, I had pork tenderloin with peach chutney and potatoes. I know pork figures hugely in Lithuanian cuisine and I wanted to try a pork dish and this one was delicious - it was not entirely Lithuanian in its make-up, but it was a twist. The pork was done to a tender perfection.

The service was also impeccable. I learnt that the chef was cordon bleu trained, and it showed. I would recommend people visiting Vilnius to try this restaurant. It was also value for money. But it is a small restaurant, so go early.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem In Vilnius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just returned from a trip to the Baltic Capitals and were blown away by this little gem of a restaurant in Vilnius, Lithuania. It is very close to the main street in old town, but is hidden away on a little side street.

The service is great and the food is terrific.

We happened to be there the evening that one of the owner's relatives had just gotten married, so the atmosphere was particularly happy. We spoke with the owner, as well as the wedding celebrants.

Prices are reasonable and menu choices are many. We had a bottle of Italian wine as local wines are not really recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The best places are hidden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great food and good service. A wonderful experience of new flavors. Not to be missed for excellent food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lithuanian cuisine with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Highly recommend to try Lithuanian food tasting menu. Oxtail soup was amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Mikos also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Holy Mikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Mikos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.