We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not worth stopping for something to eat” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belmontas

Belmontas
Belmonto Street 17, Vilnius, Lithuania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 383 Restaurants in Vilnius
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Really not worth stopping for something to eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

'Belmontas' is a restored mill in extensive grounds just out of the centre of Vilnius. The grounds are well-kept and it's a good place to go with kids because they can run around, but take a picnic! The restaurant showcases what is wrong with so many Lithuanian eateries. Dreadful service, stodgy, fatty food which is not well cooked or presented, served in a haphazard manner (desserts before starters!) by a waitress who seemed to have no idea that a smile and a friendly manner was expected. The toilet was dark and smelly, clearly not adequate for the size of restaurant, and we left without ever getting all of the food we had ordered.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Belmontas is not so much a restaurant as a big area with restaurants, museums and a beautiful nature reservation. We ordered "local food for four persons". It turned out to be four potato based dishes and it was more than enough food for the four of us. My guess is that six people of normal appetite could share and all fill their needs. The food was solid, heavy and delicious. For me the high point was the Zepelin which is a kind of potato ball with meet inside. It reminded me of a dish served by my aunt at an annual family gathering - the Norwegian dish "Kumle". After dinner we went for a walk in the beautiful area outside the restaurant area. All in all a great experience and especially recommended for the days with good weather.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Heavenly peaceful walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I am from Ireland and came here for an hour. We did not eat, just walked around. Its a lovely place. There was some toilets not so clean but they were in an area not in use so maybe best cordon them off from public or keep clean

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st petersburg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“if possible i would not even give one point”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

filthy dirty, unorganized, incompetent, useless management,
points only for location the outside looks good maintained, so if you want to go for a walk, just just a different restaurant or bar for your enjoyment, you will not find it here

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go there specifically for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant I'm talking about is on a patio overlooking a waterfall.
It's in a nice park a few kilometers out of Vilnius with a more or less tastefully rebuilt watermill. There are other buildings that are available for wedding receptions. Our party of Lithuanians and foreigners agreed that the food was more or less average although we only had lithuanian staples such as cepelinai, shashlyk and salads. They also brew their own beer and gira.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmontas also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Belmontas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmontas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.