We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the decor and the food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balzac

Balzac
Rue Saviciaus 7, Vilnius, Lithuania
8 614 89 223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 418 Restaurants in Vilnius
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In the very heart of Vilnius, just next to the Town Hall Square, the restaurant welcomes you around an exquisite meal in a warm atmosphere with French music.Come and enjoy the best in French cuisine and more than 40 kinds of selected French wines that we import directly from small French wine producers."Balzac" restaurant was voted the best restaurant in Lithuania by the "Baltic Times" readers in 2010.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Loved the decor and the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The decor was quaint and cozy and the good was excellent, especially the presentation. The had a dish that translated to snails in the garden and it came in a box with edible dirt (breadcrumbs) and flowers. And the creme brûlée was put in hollowed out eggshells and served. Wow!!! Wonderful

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    42
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bruxelles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Goof French Brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The place was a bit empty, but the food was good and the service was kind and efficient. The carte is typically what you find in a good French brasserie, and the wine list is rather impressive. My terrine de la maison was very tasty, and the canard confit was not bad at all. The wines were all relatively expensive but the Minervois was fabulous. The ambiance was a bit formal, perhaps the room had too much light and there was no music. All in all, I would certainly recommend the place, but more for an official dinner than for eating out with friends.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly place, food could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I agree with the other reviewer that it is unacceptable to be forced not to drink tap water, the mineral water imported from France is overtly expensive ..
Still, I found the food quite acceptable, and the place was full of locals, the prices were reasonable and the waitress friendly.
If you do not expect something overwhelming, it is perfectly ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neerpelt, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Parisian bistro in the center of Vilnius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had lunch in their courtyard as it was a sunny day. Service was swift and good. Food was excellent. Had the beef tartare, don't remember my main, but it was very good, perfect creme brulee to finish.
True, classic French bistro

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were more than 10 people celebrating family occasion there, and we only made a reservation for 10 people. We were awfully disappointed by the service when waitresses insisted that they can only serve 10 people as it was booked. They didn't offer any other solutions and we had to choose other tables (not one) ourselves - staff was not helpful in this. Moreover, we couldn't have simple water to drink, they could only offer sparkling one, so kids had to go to the toilet to drink from the tap. And lastly, we had to negotiate with the staff to get the permission to have our own cake (we ordered salad, dinners, wines and coffee drinks before) - it was horrible! Honestly, maybe we had to high expectations but this place actually ruined our family dinner - never coming back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balzac also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Balzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balzac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.